shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use BrainPOP?

Animated educational videos and quizzes for K-8 - brainpop.com

Depends. Buy it if you teach or homeschool K-8 and want engaging animated lessons with quizzes across subjects. Skip it if you need a full core curriculum, teach grades 9-12, or want free resources.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources; many review snippets were truncated in capture, so verbatim quotes were unavailable.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$129/year

Homeschool/Family

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
School license~$1,463/year (example)

Best for

  • K-8 classroom teachers
  • Homeschool families
  • ELL learners
  • Whole-class video lessons

Not for

  • Grades 9-12 — content skews K-8
  • Anyone needing a full core curriculum — it is a supplement
  • Zero-budget buyers — free options cover similar ground
  • Preschool-age kids — Jr. starts at kindergarten

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Products are sold separately — BrainPOP, Jr., ELL, and Science each need their own license.

medium

School pricing varies per campus; one SFUSD elementary paid $1,462.75/year.

low

Annual billing is the deal: store promotes 33% off annual; monthly costs more.

low

No permanent free tier confirmed in sources — free trial only.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Used by 70% of U.S. K-8 schools
  • Multiple editions: Jr., ELL, Science, plus assisted grading tools
  • Clever integration provides rostering and single sign-on for schools
  • COPPA-compliant, with a published privacy policy
  • Long-liked by homeschool families for keeping kids engaged

Cons

  • Some kids complain the videos are boring
  • Content skews young; older students outgrow it
  • Teachers openly debate whether it justifies the cost

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/03/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x6news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $129/year

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Teachers split on whether cost is worth it
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Kids and homeschool parents use it easily
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Jr., ELL, Science editions plus quizzes and grading
  • Support quality. No evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. COPPA-compliant, published privacy policy, no breaches found
  • $129/yr Family plan Price cited by Common Sense Media
  • 70% K-8 U.S. schools using it Per IVC Data & Insights
  • $1,462.75/yr School license example SFUSD elementary purchase, 2025-26
  • 33% Annual discount BrainPOP store promo

Pricing

Homeschool/Family

$129/year

  • At-home access for family
  • BrainPOP plus Jr. content

School license

~$1,463/year (example)

  • Campus-wide access
  • Elementary plan
  • Clever SSO supported

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Teachers and homeschoolers broadly praise BrainPOP as safe, engaging K-8 content, though some say kids find it boring and cost-worthiness divides opinion.

Alternatives

Compare BrainPOP with each alternative.

  • Khan Academy

    Free full-subject lessons; named a top BrainPOP alternative.

  • Mystery Science

    Guess: hands-on elementary science lessons with similar classroom energy.

    BrainPOP vs Mystery Science
  • Free YouTube science channels

    Guess: Crash Course Kids and SciShow Kids cost nothing.

Companies that use it

  • San Francisco Unified School District (Dianne Feinstein Elementary)⁷
  • DC Public Schools⁸
  • University Prep
  • St. Johns County School District (FL)
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources; many review snippets were truncated in capture, so verbatim quotes were unavailable.

Well-liked K-8 animated learning supplement. Great for classrooms/homeschool; skip for high school or full-curriculum needs.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources; many review snippets were truncated in capture, so verbatim quotes were unavailable.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. official
  8. official
  9. official
  10. official
  11. official
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.