shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Capgo?

Skip to main content - capgo.app

Depends. Buy if you ship Capacitor/Ionic apps and want cheap, open-source OTA updates well under Ionic Appflow's price. Hold off if your app is security-sensitive — 2026 brought multiple CVEs including an auth bypass.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources: reviews, Reddit threads, security advisories, and official docs.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo quality evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$12/mo billed yearly

Solo

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
EnterpriseCustom

Best for

  • Solo Capacitor developers
  • Small teams shipping Ionic/Capacitor apps
  • Teams ditching Ionic Appflow pricing
  • Open-source-first buyers

Not for

  • Non-Capacitor apps — Flutter, React Native, fully native
  • Security-sensitive fintech or healthcare apps
  • Teams that can't rapidly apply security patches
  • Buyers wary of a vendor forking competitors' plugins

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

37 vulnerabilities recorded as of September 2026; run latest CLI and SDK versions before trusting updates

high

A past misconfiguration exposed MRR and customer data unauthenticated; scrutinize if handling sensitive apps

medium

OTA covers web-layer changes only; native code changes still require App Store review

low

Headline price assumes annual billing; month-to-month will cost more

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Starts at $12/month billed yearly — far cheaper than Ionic Appflow
  • Open source with end-to-end encryption and code signing for updates
  • Reddit Capacitor community widely recommends it post-CodePush
  • Beyond updates: cloud builds, security scanner, plugin ecosystem
  • Enterprise tier with SOC 2 controls available

Cons

  • Multiple 2026 CVEs: auth bypass, information disclosure, CLI excessive permissions
  • Misconfiguration once exposed customer revenue data without authentication
  • Capacitor-only — worthless for native, Flutter, or React Native apps
  • Community pushback over forking rival Capawesome's plugins

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/03/2026 - 12 sources - Rough 2026 record: several CVEs including auth bypass, information disclosure, and incorrect authorization; patches exist for the disclosed versions.

official x5review x4security x3
  • CVE-2026-56217 — Capgo auth bypass, Authentication bypass vulnerability disclosed via SentinelOne vulnerability database.
  • CVE-2026-100622 — unauthenticated deleted-bundle access, Unauthenticated deleted-bundle vulnerability in Capgo backend.
  • CVE-2026-100629 — incorrect authorization, Incorrect authorization flaw in backend.
  • GHSA-53rj-6v76-ccwp — information disclosure before 12.128.2, Capgo before 12.128.2 contains an information disclosure vulnerability; fixed in 12.128.2.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $12/mo billed yearly

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Cheapest credible Capacitor OTA option
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviewers call setup simple
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Updates, cloud build, scanner, plugins
  • Support quality. No quality evidence found
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple 2026 CVEs, auth bypass
  • $12/mo Starting price billed yearly
  • Yes Open source Cap-go org on GitHub
  • 37 Security advisories recorded as of Sep 2026

Pricing

Solo

$12/mo billed yearly

  • For individual developers
  • Live updates for Capacitor apps

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • SOC 2 controls
  • Custom terms

Security

Rough 2026 record: several CVEs including auth bypass, information disclosure, and incorrect authorization; patches exist for the disclosed versions.

  • CVE-2026-56217 — Capgo auth bypassAuthentication bypass vulnerability disclosed via SentinelOne vulnerability database.⁸
  • CVE-2026-100622 — unauthenticated deleted-bundle accessUnauthenticated deleted-bundle vulnerability in Capgo backend.
  • CVE-2026-100629 — incorrect authorizationIncorrect authorization flaw in backend.
  • GHSA-53rj-6v76-ccwp — information disclosure before 12.128.2Capgo before 12.128.2 contains an information disclosure vulnerability; fixed in 12.128.2.

What users say

The Capacitor community on Reddit broadly recommends Capgo as the post-CodePush OTA standard, with some wariness about its aggressive forking of rival plugins.

“Capgo is the best.”
Reddit, r/capacitor
“We use Capgo's live updates”
Reddit, r/capacitor
“seems pretty strange to fork”
Reddit, r/capacitor

Alternatives

Compare Capgo with each alternative.

  • App Center CodePush

    Microsoft's retired free OTA service — the gap Capgo fills.

Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources: reviews, Reddit threads, security advisories, and official docs.

Cheap, community-loved OTA updates for Capacitor apps — but a shaky 2026 security record demands fast patching.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources: reviews, Reddit threads, security advisories, and official docs.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Capgo Pricingcapgo.app
    official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. official
  12. Capgo — Open Source Alternativesopensourcealternatives.to
    review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.