shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Documenso?

Sign everywhere with Documenso. Build workflows, create templates, and integrate seamlessly. - documenso.com

Depends. Buy if you can self-host and want to kill DocuSign bills with simple, fast signing. Skip if you need certified AdES/QeS signatures or DocuSign-grade feature depth today.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources. No named enterprise customers in evidence; no concrete cloud plan prices published in reviewed sources.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Self-hosted

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Cloud plansUndisclosed in sources

Best for

  • Self-hosters
  • Cost-sensitive startups replacing DocuSign
  • Dev teams wanting auditable code
  • Simple contract workflows

Not for

  • Regulated teams needing certified AdES/QeS now
  • Enterprises wanting DocuSign's full depth
  • Non-technical teams unwilling to patch CVEs
  • Buyers needing polished, reliable support

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Self-hosters must patch fast; OAuth and file-upload CVEs surfaced

high

AdES/QeS not fully shipped — verify legal validity for your region first

medium

Early adopter pricing capped out; regular rates now apply

medium

Fair-use policy may limit volumes on paid plans

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free self-hosting under AGPL-3.0
  • Reviewers call it simple and fast for real contracts
  • Enterprise features shipped: envelopes, rebuilt editor
  • Open codebase you can audit and extend
  • Templates, workflows, and integrations built in

Cons

  • Advanced/Qualified eSignature support still pending
  • Fewer features than DocuSign today
  • Three recent CVEs require prompt patching
  • Early-adopter pricing ended; fair-use caps apply
  • Support admittedly inconsistent

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 14 sources - Open code with fixes; three recent CVEs surfaced, including OAuth login and unauthenticated file-upload issues.

official x4review x5security x3news x2
  • CVE-2026-82472 — unauthenticated file upload / storage issue, Missing-authentication vulnerability in file upload/storage surfaced for Documenso.
  • CVE-2026-13543 — Google OAuth login handling flaw, Vulnerability in Documenso's handle-oauth login flow documented in CVE listings.
  • CVE-2026-71247 — sign-field-with-token forging (CVSS 6.5, medium), Assistant recipient could forge sign fields via token handling.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free self-hosting; open-source AGPL
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviewers call it simple, fast
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Trail DocuSign; AdES/QeS still pending
  • Support quality: 3/5. Founder admits support is inconsistent
  • Security posture: 3/5. Open fixes, but three recent CVEs
  • 12.7k GitHub stars AGPL-3.0 licensed
  • Yes Free tier Self-host free under AGPL-3.0
  • $290k Total funding Small independent open-source team
  • 3 Recent CVEs One medium severity, CVSS 6.5

Pricing

Self-hosted

Free

  • Full platform, AGPL-3.0
  • You manage hosting, updates, security

Cloud plans

Undisclosed in sources

  • Templates, workflows, integrations
  • Fair-use policy caps apply

Security

Open code with fixes; three recent CVEs surfaced, including OAuth login and unauthenticated file-upload issues.

  • CVE-2026-82472 — unauthenticated file upload / storage issueMissing-authentication vulnerability in file upload/storage surfaced for Documenso.⁸
  • CVE-2026-13543 — Google OAuth login handling flawVulnerability in Documenso's handle-oauth login flow documented in CVE listings.⁹
  • CVE-2026-71247 — sign-field-with-token forging (CVSS 6.5, medium)Assistant recipient could forge sign fields via token handling.⁹
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources. No named enterprise customers in evidence; no concrete cloud plan prices published in reviewed sources.

Free, self-hostable DocuSign substitute for startups; risky if you need certified e-signatures or enterprise depth today.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources. No named enterprise customers in evidence; no concrete cloud plan prices published in reviewed sources.

Sources

  1. official
  2. news
  3. review
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. news
  8. security
  9. security
  10. security
  11. review
  12. review
  13. official
  14. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.