shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Getabstract Review

Depends

Should I use Getabstract?

getAbstract is the verified knowledge library for enterprise AI & L&D - getabstract.com

· 5 days ago

Buy it if your employer pays or you read business books weekly. Skip it as a casual reader — Blinkist, Shortform, or a library card costs less.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; several snippets were truncated, so some pricing and review details are partial.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly 7 Trustpilot reviews; too thin to judge
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not publicly shown

Pro Monthly

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Starter (annual)~$99/year
Teams / EnterpriseCustom quote

Best for

  • Corporate L&D teams
  • Avid business-book readers
  • Enterprises wanting SSO-integrated learning content
  • Managers sharing curated learning with teams

Not for

  • People who read a few books a year — pay-per-book wins
  • Anyone expecting summaries to replace actually reading
  • Solo users on tight budgets — Blinkist is cheaper
  • Teams wanting hands-on courses instead of text recaps

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Pricing is all over the place: $99/year, $99.99 three-year deals, $299-era list price.

medium

StackSocial multi-year deals may carry different renewal and support terms.

low

Free summaries are teasers; the full library sits behind the paywall.

low

Nearly nonexistent Trustpilot footprint means you judge via trial, not reviews.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 25,000+ book summaries — one of the biggest libraries in the category
  • Enterprise-ready: Microsoft Entra SSO and Microsoft 365 Copilot connector
  • Named customers include Atlassian
  • Reviewers call the summaries short and to the point
  • CIO coverage praises the mobile app experience

Cons

  • Some Reddit users flatly say Blinkist is better
  • Just 7 Trustpilot reviews — almost no independent consumer feedback
  • Summary apps draw skepticism: skimming isn't the same as learning

Sources & method

- 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x5security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Not publicly shown

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. $99/year fair for heavy readers; light users overpay
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Mobile apps well received, incl. CIO coverage
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 25k+ summaries, certificates, SSO, Copilot connector
  • Support quality. Only 7 Trustpilot reviews; too thin to judge
  • Security posture: 4/5. SSO, UpGuard-monitored, published data-protection policy
  • 25,000+ Library size book summaries
  • $99/year Starting price consumer plan, per independent reviews
  • Yes Free trial free teaser summaries + app trial
  • 1999 Founded operating 25+ years

Pricing

Pro Monthly

Not publicly shown

  • Full library access
  • Month-to-month billing

Starter (annual)

~$99/year

  • Full summary library
  • iOS and Android apps

Teams / Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • Microsoft Entra SSO
  • Copilot connector
  • Completion certificates

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise the breadth and punchiness of the summaries, but a vocal contingent argues competitor Blinkist does it better and that summary apps tempt people into skipping real books.

“Blinkist is a lot better”
Reddit, r/productivity

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; several snippets were truncated, so some pricing and review details are partial.

Big 25k-summary library built for corporate L&D; casual readers should compare Blinkist first.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; several snippets were truncated, so some pricing and review details are partial.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. getAbstract homepagegetabstract.com
    official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. official
  10. official
  11. security
  12. news
  13. news
  14. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.