shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

GitLab Review

Depends

Should I use GitLab?

The intelligent orchestration platform for DevSecOps, enabling teams and agents to ship trusted software at enterprise scale. - gitlab.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if you are a mid-size or enterprise engineering org that wants repos, CI/CD, and security testing consolidated in one platform, with compliance or self-hosting needs. Skip it if you are a small team that just needs code hosting — GitHub or Gitea is cheaper and simpler.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; most snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be extracted. Prices beyond the free tier lack hard numbers in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
PremiumGuess: paid per-user/month; recent price increase announced
Ultimate / Duo add-onsGuess: enterprise, sales-led; Duo criticized as expensive

Best for

  • Enterprise DevSecOps teams
  • Compliance-heavy orgs
  • Self-hosting shops
  • Teams consolidating dev toolchains

Not for

  • Solo devs and tiny teams needing simple repo hosting
  • Budget-tight startups without admin bandwidth
  • Happy GitHub shops — migration pain outweighs gains
  • Non-engineering teams — this is a developer platform

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Self-managed instances carry an urgent patch burden for actively exploited CVEs

medium

Customers report hard-nosed pricing negotiations with GitLab account executives at renewal

medium

Price increases caused real migrations to Gitea, Gogs, and Gerrit

medium

Billing issues reportedly dragged on for months in forum complaints

Pros and cons

Pros

  • All-in-one: repos, CI/CD, and appsec testing in one platform
  • Structured merge request review workflow built in
  • Duo AI adds AI-powered code review for CI/CD teams
  • Free tier available for getting started
  • Self-managed option with an active self-hosting community

Cons

  • License price hikes pushed teams to cheaper alternatives
  • Duo AI pricing widely called expensive by users
  • Billing disputes reported as slow and painful
  • Critical CVEs reach active exploitation; real patching burden
  • Seen as complex versus simpler rivals like GitHub

Sources & method

- 13 sources - Actively exploited critical CVEs in 2025–2026 plus a secrets-exposure breach; self-hosted instances must patch fast.

review x6security x4news x3
  • CVE-2026-19478 under active exploitation, CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog; exploitation began days after disclosure.
  • CVE-2026-85706: maximum-severity flaw, Rated maximum severity with supply-chain risk; also listed in CISA's KEV catalog.
  • 2025 breach exposed ~17,000 secrets, A GitLab-related incident exposed thousands of secrets, driven by embedded credentials.
  • Red Hat's private GitLab repos breached, Red Hat confirmed a hack of its GitLab instance with data theft in October 2025.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Repeated price hikes; Duo AI called expensive
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Some users find it complex versus rivals
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Full DevSecOps suite: repos, CI/CD, security, AI
  • Support quality: 2/5. Billing support complaints dragged on
  • Security posture: 2/5. Actively exploited critical CVEs; 2025 secrets breach
  • 4+/5 G2 rating 917 reviews (GitLab Inc. seller page)
  • Yes Free tier Confirmed in 2025 pricing guides
  • $414M+ Raised pre-IPO Through Series E; Goldman Sachs-backed
  • 2021 IPO Public company Nasdaq: GTLB, priced above range

Pricing

Free

Free

  • Core Git hosting and CI/CD
  • Free tier confirmed by pricing guides

Premium

Guess: paid per-user/month; recent price increase announced

  • Advanced CI/CD and governance

Ultimate / Duo add-ons

Guess: enterprise, sales-led; Duo criticized as expensive

  • Security testing, AI features

Security

Actively exploited critical CVEs in 2025–2026 plus a secrets-exposure breach; self-hosted instances must patch fast.

  • CVE-2026-19478 under active exploitationCISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog; exploitation began days after disclosure.⁷
  • CVE-2026-85706: maximum-severity flawRated maximum severity with supply-chain risk; also listed in CISA's KEV catalog.⁸
  • 2025 breach exposed ~17,000 secretsA GitLab-related incident exposed thousands of secrets, driven by embedded credentials.10
  • Red Hat's private GitLab repos breachedRed Hat confirmed a hack of its GitLab instance with data theft in October 2025.⁹

What users say

Users praise the integrated DevSecOps scope but grumble about price hikes, expensive AI add-ons, and billing friction.

Alternatives

Compare GitLab with each alternative.

  • GitHub

    Default choice for most teams; stronger AI ecosystem.

    GitLab vs GitHub
  • Gitea

    Lightweight, cheap self-hosted Git; common GitLab escape hatch.

    GitLab vs Gitea
  • Gerrit

    Code-review-first workflow for large engineering orgs.

Companies that use it

  • Red Hat⁹
  • Betstudios
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; most snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be extracted. Prices beyond the free tier lack hard numbers in evidence.

Enterprise DevSecOps suite: powerful but pricey, with active-exploit CVEs and renewal friction. Overkill for small teams.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; most snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be extracted. Prices beyond the free tier lack hard numbers in evidence.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. security
  11. news
  12. news
  13. news

Add this review to your site

This check for GitLab says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.