shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Hubitat?

Local, Reliable, Fast and Private Home Automation - hubitat.com

Depends. Buy if you're a tinkerer with Zigbee/Z-Wave devices who wants fast local automations and accepts a learning curve. Skip it if you want plug-and-play simplicity, a real burglar alarm, or free remote access.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources: vendor pages, community threads, Reddit reviews, CVE records, and company trackers. Many review snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$129.95+ one-time

Hub hardware (C-7 / C-8 Pro)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Hub ProtectPaid subscription
Remote AdminPaid subscription

Best for

  • Tech enthusiasts and tinkerers
  • Privacy-focused, local-first automations
  • Homes with many Zigbee/Z-Wave devices
  • Migrants from Wink, SmartThings, or ISY

Not for

  • Casual users wanting plug-and-play smart home
  • Anyone relying on it as a burglar alarm
  • Buyers of used hubs (registration restrictions reported)
  • People unwilling to pay for remote access

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Used hubs reportedly can't be re-registered; buy new or verify transfer policy first

high

CVE-2026-1201 auth bypass affected hubs; keep firmware updated immediately

medium

Remote Admin and Hub Protect are paid subscriptions; 2025 price change caused confusion and billing disputes

medium

Tiny company (<$1M revenue per Owler); users openly question long-term viability

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Runs automations locally: fast, private, no cloud dependency
  • Supports Z-Wave Plus, Zigbee, and Matter devices
  • Active community with guides, case studies, migration help
  • Users report smooth migrations from ISY and SmartThings
  • Matter support built in, per official docs

Cons

  • Auth bypass CVE disclosed Jan 2026 (patched Aug 2025)
  • Hub security hotly debated among its own community
  • Add-on subscription price changes confused and angered users
  • Designed for tech enthusiasts, not plug-and-play beginners
  • Used hubs reportedly blocked from re-registration

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 13 sources - One known CVE: authorization bypass (CVE-2026-1201) in Hubitat Elevation, disclosed Jan 2026 and fixed in Aug 2025 platform update; community debate over hub security continues.

official x3review x3security x3news x4
  • CVE-2026-1201 — Authorization Bypass Through User-Controlled Key, Auth bypass in the Hubitat Elevation platform. Disclosed Jan 2026; fixed in an Aug 2025 platform update. Update hub firmware to current version.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $129.95+ one-time

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Hardware value OK; subscriptions and price hikes sting
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Built for tech enthusiasts; beginners need patience
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Deep local automation; huge community app library
  • Support quality: 3/5. Active forums; Hub Protect billing disputes reported
  • Security posture: 2/5. Auth-bypass CVE; hub security hotly debated
  • $129.95+ Starting price hub price after 2020 increase (community thread)
  • 1 Known CVEs CVE-2026-1201, fixed Aug 2025
  • <$1M Est. annual revenue Owler estimate; very small company
  • Z-Wave, Zigbee, Matter Protocols per vendor listings and docs

Pricing

Hub hardware (C-7 / C-8 Pro)

$129.95+ one-time

  • Local automation engine
  • Z-Wave and Zigbee radios
  • Matter support

Hub Protect

Paid subscription

  • Cloud backup
  • Hardware replacement

Remote Admin

Paid subscription

  • Remote access to your hub

Security

One known CVE: authorization bypass (CVE-2026-1201) in Hubitat Elevation, disclosed Jan 2026 and fixed in Aug 2025 platform update; community debate over hub security continues.

  • CVE-2026-1201 — Authorization Bypass Through User-Controlled KeyAuth bypass in the Hubitat Elevation platform. Disclosed Jan 2026; fixed in an Aug 2025 platform update. Update hub firmware to current version.⁴

What users say

Enthusiasts praise local speed, broad device support, and painless migrations from older hubs, while casual users and security-minded buyers are more divided.

Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources: vendor pages, community threads, Reddit reviews, CVE records, and company trackers. Many review snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes.

Great local-first hub for tinkerers; skip if you want plug-and-play. One patched CVE; remote access costs extra.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources: vendor pages, community threads, Reddit reviews, CVE records, and company trackers. Many review snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. security
  5. security
  6. security
  7. news
  8. news
  9. review
  10. review
  11. review
  12. news
  13. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.