shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Keyfactor?

Keyfactor Tech Days 2027 – Be Part of The Trust Security Conference in San Diego - keyfactor.com

Depends. Buy if you're a mid-size or larger org automating thousands of certificates, code signing, or IoT machine identity with real security staff. Don't if you manage a handful of TLS certs — free tooling and lighter CLMs cover that.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated and pricing is a third-party estimate, not official.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useReview snippets truncated; no reliable signal
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityEvidence truncated; no reliable signal
  • Security posture

Pricing

Keyfactor Command (enterprise)

~$75K+/yr (third-party estimate)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
EJBCA CommunityFree, open source

Best for

  • Large enterprises with thousands of certs
  • Teams automating machine identity and code signing
  • IoT device identity programs
  • Compliance-driven orgs needing PCI-aligned vendors

Not for

  • Small teams managing a handful of TLS certs
  • Anyone without PKI expertise on staff
  • Buyers with budgets under ~$50K/yr
  • Startups wanting quick setup — this is a platform deployment

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Pricing is opaque; estimates say ~$75K+/yr — get written quotes before shortlisting.

high

SignServer/EJBCA components had multiple CVEs in 2025–2026; track advisories and patch fast.

medium

Deployment and operations need PKI specialists; budget for staff or partner managed services.

medium

Guess: switching CLM vendors means re-issuing certificates — migration lock-in is real, plan costs upfront.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Recognized player in the Gartner CLM category
  • Broad portfolio: PKI, cert automation, code signing, IoT identity
  • $1B+ growth investment (2026) signals financial stability
  • Claims 2,000+ enterprise customers
  • Free open-source option available (EJBCA Community)

Cons

  • Typical entry pricing ~$75K+/yr per third-party estimates
  • Reddit admins split on Keyfactor vs Venafi and AppViewX
  • Multiple CVEs disclosed in SignServer components (2025–2026)
  • Partners sell managed services — signals PKI expertise needed to run

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 10 sources - Vendor holds PCI DSS certification; multiple CVEs disclosed in its open-source SignServer component (2025–2026), with fixes released upstream.

official x3review x4security x2news x1
  • CVE-2025-47222, Vulnerability disclosed in Keyfactor SignServer (Nov 2025); details in NVD entry.
  • CVE-2025-26787, Vulnerability disclosed in Keyfactor SignServer (Dec 2025).
  • CVE-2026-25826, Vulnerability in Keyfactor SignServer PKCS11CryptoToken (Sep 2026).

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • ~$75K+/yr (third-party estimate)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. No public pricing; ~$75K+ entry estimate
  • Ease of use. Review snippets truncated; no reliable signal
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Full PKI, CLM, code signing, IoT portfolio
  • Support quality. Evidence truncated; no reliable signal
  • Security posture: 3/5. PCI-DSS certified; several SignServer CVEs disclosed
  • 125 G2 reviews across Keyfactor products
  • $75K+/yr Typical entry price Keyfactor Command, third-party estimate
  • $1B+ Funding 2026 growth round led by Summit Partners
  • 2,000+ Enterprise customers per PKI Consortium profile

Pricing

Keyfactor Command (enterprise)

~$75K+/yr (third-party estimate)

  • Certificate lifecycle automation
  • PKI and machine identity management
  • Sales-quoted, no public tiers

EJBCA Community

Free, open source

  • Open-source CA software
  • Self-managed deployment

Security

Vendor holds PCI DSS certification; multiple CVEs disclosed in its open-source SignServer component (2025–2026), with fixes released upstream.

  • CVE-2025-47222Vulnerability disclosed in Keyfactor SignServer (Nov 2025); details in NVD entry.⁶
  • CVE-2025-26787Vulnerability disclosed in Keyfactor SignServer (Dec 2025).
  • CVE-2026-25826Vulnerability in Keyfactor SignServer PKCS11CryptoToken (Sep 2026).

What users say

G2 shows 125 reviews across Keyfactor products with one comparison site rating Keyfactor Command 3.8/5, while Reddit admins actively debate it against Venafi and AppViewX.

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated and pricing is a third-party estimate, not official.

Enterprise-grade PKI & cert automation, ~$75K+ entry. Great for big estates; overkill for a few TLS certs.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated and pricing is a third-party estimate, not official.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. news
  4. official
  5. official
  6. security
  7. security
  8. review
  9. review
  10. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.