shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use OpenClaw?

Open-source AI assistant that runs on your machine and works from WhatsApp, Telegram, or any chat app: inbox, email, calendar, flights. - openclaw.ai

Skip. Only experienced hobbyists with isolated machines and time to patch should run OpenClaw. Businesses, or anyone connecting real email and chats, should steer clear for now.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 45+ public sources; many snippets truncated and some pricing sites appear to be third-party/affiliate clones, so confidence is medium.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo credible support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Self-hosted (open source)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
OpenClaw Cloud$49/mo

Best for

  • Hobbyist tinkerers
  • Privacy-focused devs with spare hardware
  • Local-LLM enthusiasts
  • Makers building chat-driven agents

Not for

  • Businesses handling customer or client data
  • Non-technical users wanting an out-of-box assistant
  • Anyone unwilling to patch weekly
  • Regulated or IT-restricted organizations

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

'Free' hides metered LLM API spend; heavy use reportedly hammers provider APIs

high

30,000+ instances found publicly exposed; default configuration is not safe

high

Versions before 2026.6.5 contain known vulnerabilities; lagging on patches is dangerous

medium

2.0 upgrades are reported to carry breakage risk

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free and open-source when self-hosted
  • Runs locally; works through WhatsApp, Telegram, or any chat app
  • Genuinely powerful once fully configured
  • 700+ community skills extend what it can do
  • Local-first design appeals to privacy-minded users

Cons

  • Setup eats days, not minutes
  • API costs balloon; one tester spent $400
  • Critical CVEs include remote code execution
  • Security firms and universities urge removal or avoidance
  • Too few credible reviews to judge reliability

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 18 sources - Poor: multiple 2026 CVEs including RCE and privilege escalation; 30,000+ instances found exposed; some firms advise uninstalling.

official x2review x6security x7news x3
  • CVE-2026-27487 — remote code execution, RCE vulnerability disclosed May 2026.
  • CVE-2026-32922 — critical privilege escalation, Critical privilege-escalation flaw reported March 2026.
  • Four-CVE chain enables full agent compromise, Cyera research chained four CVEs into full AI agent takeover.
  • Data leakage and prompt injection risks, Documented data-leakage and prompt-injection weaknesses.
  • 30,000+ publicly exposed instances, BitSight found 30,000+ exposed installs; a Reddit thread cited 18,000+.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.