shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Recovery Explorer?

Universal software for DIY data recovery from Windows, macOS and Linux that will easily cope with almost any case of data loss. - r-explorer.com

Depends. Buy it if you're a technician recovering from RAID, Linux/LVM or encrypted volumes; it is pro-grade at a pro price. Skip it if you just deleted files off a laptop — cheaper or free consumer tools will do.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; most snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be extracted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $47.95

Standard

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Professionalfrom $209.95

Best for

  • IT technicians and data recovery pros
  • RAID and NAS volume recovery
  • Linux, LVM and APFS filesystems
  • Encrypted volume recovery

Not for

  • Casual users who deleted a few files
  • Non-technical people wanting one-click recovery
  • Physically damaged drives — those need a hardware lab
  • Anyone happy with free tools like PhotoRec

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Three editions (Standard, RAID, Professional); buying the wrong tier means paying again for RAID cases

medium

Professional license starts at $209.95; verify your filesystem and storage case are covered first

low

Guess: licensing appears per product and OS; check licensing terms before multi-machine use

low

Guess: no free full recovery expected; budget tools like PhotoRec cost nothing instead

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Reads Windows, macOS, Linux filesystems, RAID, LVM and encrypted volumes
  • Wizard-based flow guides less expert users through recovery
  • Same developer as UFS Explorer, a respected professional tool
  • Named alongside R-Studio in pro data recovery community recommendations
  • Standard edition offers a budget entry point under $50

Cons

  • Professional tier costs $209.95, far above consumer recovery apps
  • No public security page found on the vendor site
  • Community discussions mention R-Studio and UFS Explorer far more often
  • Guess: Standard edition likely lacks RAID and LVM support

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x3security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • from $47.95

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Standard undercuts pro rivals like R-Studio (guess)
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Wizard mode exists, but UI targets pros (guess)
  • Feature depth: 5/5. RAID, LVM, APFS, encryption coverage
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 2/5. No public security page found
  • $47.95 Starting price Recovery Explorer Standard
  • $209.95 Professional tier one-time license
  • 3 Editions Standard, RAID, Professional
  • 4.3/5 Sister product rating UFS Explorer, HandyRecovery review

Pricing

Standard

from $47.95

  • Entry DIY tier for common data-loss cases
  • Single-OS licensing

Professional

from $209.95

  • Advanced filesystem and storage technology support
  • Aimed at technicians and pros

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit's r/datarecovery users treat the Recovery Explorer/UFS Explorer family as professional-grade tools, while repeatedly steering casual users away from consumer apps like EaseUS.

Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; most snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be extracted.

Pro-grade DIY recovery for RAID/Linux/encrypted volumes. $48 entry, $210 pro. Overkill for simple deleted-file cases.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; most snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be extracted.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.