shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use 4WinKey (PassFab 4WinKey)?

Not disclosed - 4winkey.com

Depends. Buy it only at the moment you're locked out of a Windows PC and the free Microsoft-account online reset has failed. Don't pre-buy or subscribe — licensing confusion and use-once reality punish everyone else.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; several are vendor comparisons, coupon sites, and vendor-published reviews.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo vulnerability or breach data in sources

Pricing

See purchase page

Standard

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Professional$19.95/yr
UltimateSee purchase page

Best for

  • Locked-out Windows users
  • One-off personal recovery
  • Family tech-support rescues

Not for

  • Microsoft-account users — reset free online instead
  • IT departments managing fleets — no central management
  • Anyone pre-buying 'just in case' — the subscription punishes that
  • People uncomfortable creating bootable media

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Buyers assume one-time purchase; a $26 purchase appears to renew. Read license terms at checkout

medium

USB burning failures reported; test the boot disk before you're actually locked out

medium

List prices inflated; 84–85% off coupons circulate constantly, so never pay full price

medium

Support quality unclear; dissatisfied buyers escalate to paid Q&A sites instead

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Resets forgotten Windows passwords without reinstalling the operating system
  • Helps locked-out users regain access, including inherited or deceased-owner machines
  • Strong Trustpilot ratings across PassFab review pages
  • Available on multiple platforms including an Android companion app

Cons

  • Yearly subscription model for a tool most people need once
  • Buyers report thinking they bought a one-time license
  • Bootable USB creation failed for at least one verified buyer
  • Customer complaints end up on paid third-party help sites
  • Perpetually discounted list prices obscure the real going rate

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x7security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • See purchase page

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Yearly subscription for a use-once tool
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Guided process, but USB burning failures reported
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Resets and bypasses passwords without reinstalling per vendor
  • Support quality: 2/5. Buyers escalated problems to paid third-party forums
  • Security posture. No vulnerability or breach data in sources
  • 5/5 Trustpilot (PassFab) passfab.net review pages
  • $19.95/yr Starting price Slashdot listing, before coupons
  • No Free tier Vendor FAQ calls it paid software
  • Windows Password Key Formerly named Rebranded to 4WinKey per PR Newswire

Pricing

Standard

See purchase page

  • Basic Windows password reset

Professional

$19.95/yr

  • Resets passwords without reinstalling
  • 1-month option available

Ultimate

See purchase page

  • Top tier per vendor naming

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Success stories from locked-out users dominate, but subscription confusion and USB-burning failures draw complaints on consumer help forums.

“I bought paaFab 4winkey for $26 thinking it was one-time”
JustAnswer customer complaint
“I purchased Passkey 4 Win and burning to flash drive failed”
JustAnswer customer complaint
“PassFab 4WinKey is the easiest and quit...”
Reddit, r/computer
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; several are vendor comparisons, coupon sites, and vendor-published reviews.

One-off lockout tool that works, but subscription pricing punishes single use. Try the free Microsoft reset first; buy only when stuck.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; several are vendor comparisons, coupon sites, and vendor-published reviews.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. security
  8. news
  9. review
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.