shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Abbyy?

The Intelligent Automation Company — OCR, document processing, and process intelligence - abbyy.com

Depends. Buy ABBYY FineReader if OCR accuracy matters to you daily; consider its enterprise IDP platform only for high-volume document operations. Skip it for casual PDF edits or small teams — cheaper tools handle that fine.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; pricing figures thin — no confirmed prices in reviewed snippets.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Docs-heavy back offices
  • Multilingual OCR at scale
  • Invoice and claims automation
  • Enterprises needing process intelligence

Not for

  • Occasional PDF edits — free tools suffice
  • Small teams with light document volumes
  • Buyers wanting transparent, self-serve enterprise pricing
  • Anyone avoiding sales calls just to learn pricing

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Enterprise pricing is quote-based; expect sales calls before knowing cost

medium

2018 MongoDB misconfiguration leaked 203,000 customer records

low

Subscription terms govern auto-renewal — read before annual commitments

low

Volume licensing kicks in beyond individual plans; budget accordingly

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 4.5/5 across 412 G2 reviews
  • PCMag: FineReader 'still unbeatable for OCR'
  • Covers OCR, IDP, API, and process intelligence
  • 10,000+ customers
  • Customer story cites 90% faster invoice processing

Cons

  • Enterprise pricing opaque — 'varies significantly'
  • Overlapping product lines (FineReader, FlexiCapture) complicate buying
  • Framed as legacy precision versus newer AI-native OCR rivals
  • 2018 leak exposed 203,000 customer records

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 12 sources - trust center and vulnerability disclosure program; 4 indexed CVEs and a 2018 leak of 203,000 records.

official x3review x5security x2news x2
  • 2018 customer data leak, Misconfigured MongoDB server exposed 203,000 customer records.
  • CVE-2018-13791, HTTP API vulnerability in FlexiCapture before 12.
  • CVE-2019-20383, Disclosed vulnerability affecting ABBYY software, listed on NVD.
  • CVE-2023-4863, OpenCV vulnerability disclosed in ABBYY products per vendor support article.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. FineReader well-reviewed; enterprise pricing opaque
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Consistently praised as polished desktop OCR
  • Feature depth: 5/5. OCR, IDP, API, and process intelligence
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Trust center exists; 2018 leak, 4 CVEs
  • 4.5/5 G2 rating 412 reviews
  • 10,000+ Customers per ABBYY partner page
  • $16.2M Funding Crunchbase, this year
  • 4 Public CVEs indexed by OpenCVE

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

trust center and vulnerability disclosure program; 4 indexed CVEs and a 2018 leak of 203,000 records.

  • 2018 customer data leakMisconfigured MongoDB server exposed 203,000 customer records.⁹
  • CVE-2018-13791HTTP API vulnerability in FlexiCapture before 12.
  • CVE-2019-20383Disclosed vulnerability affecting ABBYY software, listed on NVD.
  • CVE-2023-4863OpenCV vulnerability disclosed in ABBYY products per vendor support article.

What users say

Reviewers consistently rank ABBYY's OCR accuracy best-in-class, especially FineReader, backed by a 4.5/5 across 412 G2 reviews.

“ABBYY Finereader is the best OCR”
Reddit, r/learn_arabic
“The most accurate OCR”
Reddit, r/writing
“Still Unbeatable for OCR”
PCMag review

Companies that use it

  • Emerson
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; pricing figures thin — no confirmed prices in reviewed snippets.

OCR gold standard. FineReader: buy for heavy PDF work. Enterprise IDP: only for big-volume document teams.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; pricing figures thin — no confirmed prices in reviewed snippets.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. news
  8. ABBYY — Crunchbasecrunchbase.com
    news
  9. security
  10. ABBYY Trust Centertrust.abbyy.com
    security
  11. ABBYY vs Modern AI OCRimagetotable.ai
    review
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.