shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use ABCmouse?

Educational games, books, puzzles & songs for young kids - abcmouse.com

Depends. Buy it if you have a 2–8 year-old and use the 30-day free trial to test engagement before paying. Skip it if you want a full homeschool curriculum, a free option, or subscription auto-renewal headaches.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: FTC records, Reddit/G2/Trustpilot reviews, official pricing and support pages, and funding news.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0 for 30 days

Free trial

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Paid subscriptionMonthly and annual plans; exact prices not shown in sources

Best for

  • Parents of kids ages 2–8
  • Supplemental pre-K–2nd grade practice
  • Educational screen time
  • Classroom game centers

Not for

  • Full homeschool curriculum seekers
  • Budget families wanting free options
  • Kids beyond 2nd grade
  • Anyone averse to auto-renewing subscriptions

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Auto-renewal and cancellation complaints triggered a $10M FTC settlement; calendar the trial end date.

medium

Trial converts to paid automatically; verify current 2026 prices before subscribing.

medium

Two product versions (Classic and 2.0) have separate pricing plans; know which you're buying.

low

Isolated Reddit report of sign-in to an unknown account; use a unique password.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 30-day free trial before any payment
  • Large library of games, books, puzzles, and songs
  • Kids find the app easy to use
  • Company reports 70,000 active teachers
  • Used in Head Start kindergarten-readiness programs

Cons

  • Paid $10M FTC settlement in 2020 over privacy and auto-renewal
  • Parents frequently debate whether it's worth the price
  • Some homeschool parents strongly dislike it
  • Many cheaper or free alternatives exist

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 11 sources - 2020 $10M FTC settlement over children's privacy and auto-renewal; no breach data in sources reviewed.

official x2review x5security x2news x2
  • $10M FTC settlement (2020), Settled FTC enforcement action involving children's privacy and auto-renewal/cancellation practices.
  • Anecdotal account-access report, Single Reddit report of sign-in to an unknown account; unverified anecdote, not a confirmed incident.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0 for 30 days

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Worth-it debates common; cheaper and free alternatives exist
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Kids find the app easy, per G2
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Huge games, books, and songs library
  • Support quality: 2/5. FTC action centered on cancellation practices
  • Security posture: 2/5. $10M FTC children's-privacy settlement
  • 30 days Free trial Confirmed across official pages
  • $300M Company funding 2021 TPG-led round; $3B valuation
  • $10M FTC settlement 2020, privacy and auto-renewal
  • 70,000 Teacher adoption Company-reported active teachers

Pricing

Free trial

$0 for 30 days

  • Full program access during trial
  • Auto-converts to paid subscription

Paid subscription

Monthly and annual plans; exact prices not shown in sources

  • Multiple plan versions (Classic, 2.0)
  • Check support pages for current pricing

Security

2020 $10M FTC settlement over children's privacy and auto-renewal; no breach data in sources reviewed.

  • $10M FTC settlement (2020)Settled FTC enforcement action involving children's privacy and auto-renewal/cancellation practices.³
  • Anecdotal account-access reportSingle Reddit report of sign-in to an unknown account; unverified anecdote, not a confirmed incident.

What users say

Parents and teachers say kids enjoy it and find it easy, but many debate whether the subscription is worth the price.

Alternatives

Compare ABCmouse with each alternative.

  • LeapFrog Academy

    Cited as a strong competing early-learning option

Companies that use it

  • Burlington County Library System
  • Contra Costa County Library
  • Head Start programs
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: FTC records, Reddit/G2/Trustpilot reviews, official pricing and support pages, and funding news.

Supplemental learning app for ages 2–8 with a 30-day free trial — worth testing, but watch auto-renewals and consider free alternatives.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: FTC records, Reddit/G2/Trustpilot reviews, official pricing and support pages, and funding news.

Sources

  1. ABCmouse homepageabcmouse.com
    official
  2. official
  3. security
  4. security
  5. news
  6. review
  7. review
  8. Test Prep Insight reviewtestprepinsight.com
    review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.