shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Acellus Review

Depends

Should I use Acellus?

[Student Sign-In](https://www.goldkeyid.com/apps/acellus/install/) - acellus.com

· 1 day ago

Reasonable pick for self-paced homeschoolers who want a huge course library and an accredited online-school path. Families needing responsive support, the lowest price, or a controversy-free record should look elsewhere.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources (official pages, forums, news). Many forum snippets are truncated, so review detail is partial.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$79/mo

Acellus Academy

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Power HomeschoolNot listed in sources
Schools & DistrictsCustom quote

Best for

  • Self-paced homeschoolers
  • Families wanting an accredited online school
  • Districts needing supplemental or credit-recovery courses
  • Parents comfortable teaching themselves

Not for

  • Families who need responsive support
  • Budget shoppers — Miacademy is cited as cheaper
  • Schools avoiding content controversies
  • Parents worried how colleges view the diploma

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Power Homeschool is non-accredited; Acellus Academy is accredited. Verify which one you're buying.

medium

$79/month is per student — multiple kids multiply the bill fast.

medium

Families report concerns over transcripts and portability when leaving.

medium

BBB complaint profile exists — read it before paying.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 470 separate courses spanning K-12.
  • Accredited online-school path at $79/month.
  • Cheaper parent-taught option via Power Homeschool.
  • Some kids genuinely thrive on the format.
  • Scholarships offered through the Roger Billings program.

Cons

  • Parent reviews are mixed across forums.
  • Users report support emails going unanswered.
  • Districts dropped it in 2020 over offensive content.
  • Hawaii DOE review called it problem-ridden.
  • Users frequently recommend Miacademy instead.

Sources & method

- 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x6security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $79/mo

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Users flag cheaper rivals like Miacademy
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Self-paced videos; some report no problems
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 470 courses spanning K-12
  • Support quality: 1/5. Users report unanswered emails
  • Security posture: 2/5. Announced 2025-26 security overhaul after earlier issues
  • $79/mo Academy tuition Acellus Academy accredited path
  • 470+ Course library K-12 courses
  • Power Homeschool Parent-taught option Non-accredited, separate product

Pricing

Acellus Academy

$79/mo

  • Accredited online private school
  • Roger Billings scholarships available
  • Full K-12 course access

Power Homeschool

Not listed in sources

  • Parent-taught Acellus curriculum
  • Not accredited

Schools & Districts

Not disclosed

  • School/district licensing
  • Gold Advantage grants offered

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviews are mixed: some families say the self-paced format works well, while others cite support problems and switch to rivals like Miacademy.

“My nephew loves Acellus.”
Reddit, r/Acellus_Academy

Alternatives

Compare Acellus with each alternative.

  • Miacademy

    Cheaper, often-recommended homeschool rival in parent threads.

  • Time4Learning

    Budget-friendly, self-paced K-12 with monthly pricing.

    Acellus vs Time4Learning
  • Calvert Homeschool

    Long-established homeschool curriculum alternative.

  • Power Homeschool

    Acellus's own cheaper, non-accredited parent version.

Companies that use it

  • Hawaii Department of Education (HIDOE)11
  • Nordonia Schools
  • Rose City High School (Pomona USD)
  • Acton-Agua Dulce USD
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources (official pages, forums, news). Many forum snippets are truncated, so review detail is partial.

Self-paced K-12 with 470+ courses and a $79/mo accredited path; mixed reviews, weak support. Check Miacademy first.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources (official pages, forums, news). Many forum snippets are truncated, so review detail is partial.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. Power Homeschool FAQpowerhomeschool.org
    official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. news
  11. news
  12. news
  13. security
  14. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.