shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Acorn Finance?

Acorn Finance helps contractors offer fast, affordable financing for customers with good & bad credit. Get quick approvals, competitive rates, and simple tools to grow your business. - acornfinance.com

Worth it. Home improvement contractors should enable it — it's free, embedded in tools they already use, and covers $2k–$100k jobs. Excellent-credit borrowers shopping rates should compare lenders directly, since quoted rates are the top complaint.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: Trustpilot, WalletHub, BBB, Reddit, comparison articles, and partner integration pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support quality evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Contractor/Dealer

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Home improvement contractors
  • Roofers and field-service pros
  • Teams on FieldPulse or AccuLynx
  • Shops serving fair/bad-credit customers

Not for

  • Excellent-credit borrowers hunting the lowest APR
  • Jobs under $2,000 — loan minimum blocks small tickets
  • Contractors wanting control over lending decisions
  • Non-home-services merchants (category focus)

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Origination fees of 1–6% hit loans under $40,000 — your customer pays them, not you

medium

Dealer agreement includes SMS consent; message and data rates may apply to customer texts

medium

You can't override lender decisions — approvals and rates come from partner lenders, not Acorn

medium

Rate complaints are the most common borrower gripe in reviews

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 100% free for contractors — no dealer, setup, or monthly fees
  • Loans from $2,000 to $100,000 through multiple national lenders
  • Soft credit check pre-qualification won't hurt customer credit scores
  • Embedded in FieldPulse, AccuLynx, JobTread, and RoofSnap workflows
  • Serves customers with good and bad credit

Cons

  • Underwriting criteria set by partner lenders, not Acorn Finance
  • Some lenders charge 1–6% origination fees on loans under $40,000
  • Most common borrower complaint is rate-based

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 15 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x6review x7security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free for contractors; no setup or monthly fees
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users report fast, easy online applications
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Multi-lender loans $2k–$100k, embedded integrations
  • Support quality. No support quality evidence found
  • Security posture: 4/5. Bank-level encryption, passkeys, GLBA notice; no breaches found
  • 4/5 Trustpilot rating ~1,330 reviews
  • $0 Contractor price No setup or monthly fees
  • $2,000–$100,000 Loan range Via partner lenders
  • Yes BBB accredited Since September 2020

Pricing

Contractor/Dealer

$0

  • 100% free for dealers
  • No setup costs or monthly fees
  • No dealer-fee financing model

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Generally positive (4/5 on Trustpilot, ~1,330 reviews), with quoted loan rates the most common complaint.

“Needed a loan fast and easy. Found Acorn Finance I applied online”
Trustindex review
“We use acorn finance all the time. It's free and easy to use”
Reddit, r/Roofing

Companies that use it

  • CertaPro Painters
  • PODS
  • 1-800-PACK-RAT
  • Index Fence
  • POWCO
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: Trustpilot, WalletHub, BBB, Reddit, comparison articles, and partner integration pages.

Free for contractors to offer $2k–$100k customer financing; lender-set rates mean strong-credit borrowers should compare.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: Trustpilot, WalletHub, BBB, Reddit, comparison articles, and partner integration pages.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. official
  11. news
  12. official
  13. official
  14. security
  15. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.