shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Alliant Credit Union?

Not disclosed - alliantcreditunion.org

Depends. Choose Alliant if you want online-only, high-yield banking with a huge fee-free ATM network and can self-serve. Avoid it if you need branches, cash deposits, or top-rated customer service.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 16+ public sources: reviews, Reddit threads, official pages, court records, and vendor case studies. Review snippets were truncated, so no verbatim quotes could be extracted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$1,000 minimum

CDs

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees80,000+
HardwareNot disclosed
Personal loansRate varies
Cashback Visa Signature cardFees not stated in sources

Best for

  • Online-only banking users
  • High-yield savers and CD buyers
  • Cash-back credit card seekers
  • Frequent ATM users

Not for

  • Anyone needing branches, tellers, or cash deposits
  • Users who prioritize top-rated customer service
  • People uncomfortable with fully digital banking

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Branchless: depositing cash or getting face-to-face help is hard.

medium

CDs require a $1,000 minimum deposit.

medium

Loan rates depend on automatic payment setup; expect higher rates without it.

medium

Personal loan rates run 1% higher when refinancing an existing Alliant loan.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Access to more than 80,000 fee-free ATMs
  • Reviewers cite excellent savings, mortgage, and CD rates
  • Largest branchless credit union; mature digital experience
  • Open membership — everyone is eligible to apply to join
  • Raised $500M in deposits in six months

Cons

  • WalletHub users rate it just 2.5/5 across 318 ratings
  • Branchless model means no in-person or teller service
  • Multiple Reddit threads about members leaving or reconsidering
  • Named in Page et al. v. Alliant federal lawsuit
  • Fought bias suit over treating 'Dreamers' as loan risks

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 16 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x8security x1news x5

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $1,000 minimum

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Reviewers cite excellent rates; 80k fee-free ATMs
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Branchless, digital-first model with online banking
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Checking, savings, CDs, mortgages, loans, cards, business
  • Support quality: 2/5. WalletHub 2.5/5; Reddit members report leaving
  • Security posture: 4/5. Security center, LogRhythm SIEM; no confirmed breach
  • 2.5/5 WalletHub rating 318 user ratings
  • 80,000+ Fee-free ATMs per U.S. News review
  • $1,000 CD minimum three-month terms available
  • $500M Deposit growth raised in 6 months per Alkami case study

Pricing

CDs

$1,000 minimum

  • Three-month terms available
  • 4%+ APY as of Sep 2026 per CD Valet

Personal loans

Rate varies

  • 1% higher when refinancing existing Alliant loan
  • Better rates with automatic payment

Cashback Visa Signature card

Fees not stated in sources

  • Cash-back rewards per cardholder forums

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Feedback is split: reviewers praise rates and ATM access, but WalletHub users average 2.5/5 and some Redditors are leaving.

Full analysis

Based on 16+ public sources: reviews, Reddit threads, official pages, court records, and vendor case studies. Review snippets were truncated, so no verbatim quotes could be extracted.

Strong rates and 80,000+ fee-free ATMs, but 2.5/5 WalletHub service score and zero branches.

Methodology

Based on 16+ public sources: reviews, Reddit threads, official pages, court records, and vendor case studies. Review snippets were truncated, so no verbatim quotes could be extracted.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. news
  11. Alliant Credit Union rates pagealliantcreditunion.org
    official
  12. Alliant Credit Union fees pagealliantcreditunion.org
    official
  13. security
  14. news
  15. news
  16. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.