shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Approval Studio?

A new generation of artwork approval software for fast sign-off. Mark up designs, compare versions, proof online with clients, and let AI do the reporting. - approval.studio

Depends. Buy if you run print, packaging, or pharma artwork approvals with many stakeholders and messy version chains. Skip if you just need quick design comments — simpler tools cost less.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources; review depth is thin (39 Capterra reviews, no first-hand user quotes found).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

US$65.00

Starting plan (per Capterra)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Lifetime deal (AppSumo)One-time, varies

Best for

  • Packaging & print artwork teams
  • Medical/pharma artwork reviews
  • Agencies managing external client sign-off
  • Teams needing color separation checks

Not for

  • Freelancers needing quick, cheap markup
  • Video review teams
  • Small teams wanting self-serve transparent pricing
  • Buyers requiring certified security (SOC 2/ISO)

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Capterra lists $65.00 starting price; no public plan breakdown — confirm seats and limits at demo.

medium

AppSumo lifetime deal is promoted; lifetime plans often carry feature or support limits — read terms.

low

Security page describes practices but names no SOC 2 or ISO certifications.

low

Heavy workflow/API/barcode feature set suggests onboarding time for small teams.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 4.8/5 Capterra rating across 39 reviews
  • Niche print features: color separation, barcode reader, version compare
  • Integrates Figma, Adobe, Slack, Zapier, Shopify; REST and GraphQL APIs
  • External Reviews feature for client sign-off outside the team
  • Mobile app for on-the-go approvals

Cons

  • Site pushes demo bookings over transparent public pricing
  • Small review base: only 39 Capterra reviews
  • Feature breadth (workflows, APIs, barcode reader) exceeds simple proofing needs

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 8 sources - Trust & Security page describes data and payment protections; no certifications or incidents found in sources reviewed.

official x2review x3security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • US$65.00

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. $65 starting price; lifetime deals offered
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Guess: 4.8 Capterra rating implies usability
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Color separation, barcode reader, workflows, APIs
  • Support quality. No evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. Trust page exists; no certifications named
  • 4.8/5 Capterra rating 39 reviews
  • US$65.00 Starting price Per Capterra listing
  • 2017 Founded Wilmington, US HQ (Dealroom)
  • Yes Free demo Personal demo, booked via site

Pricing

Starting plan (per Capterra)

US$65.00

  • Full creative review workflow
  • Client-facing external reviews

Lifetime deal (AppSumo)

One-time, varies

  • Promoted via AppSumo
  • Terms not detailed in sources

Security

Trust & Security page describes data and payment protections; no certifications or incidents found in sources reviewed.

What users say

Evidence is thin: mostly directory listings and social link shares, with a strong 4.8/5 across 39 Capterra reviews.

Companies that use it

  • CSS Industries³
  • NV Magazine³
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; review depth is thin (39 Capterra reviews, no first-hand user quotes found).

Strong niche proofer for print/packaging artwork sign-off; overkill and pricier than needed for simple design comments.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; review depth is thin (39 Capterra reviews, no first-hand user quotes found).

Sources

  1. review
  2. official
  3. security
  4. official
  5. news
  6. news
  7. review
  8. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.