shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use ASU (Arizona State University)?

University homepage — navigation for academics, admissions, and campus services - asu.edu

Skip. asu.edu is Arizona State University's homepage, not a software product — there is nothing here for a tool buyer to purchase, integrate, or deploy. If you are a student evaluating schools, the evidence shows a large public university with mixed community sentiment and roughly $35k/yr costs.

Confidence

High. Based on 10+ public sources; all evidence describes a university, not a software product. CVE hits for 'ASU' refer to OpenWrt's Attended SysUpgrade tool, an unrelated product, and were excluded.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyUniversity tuition, not product pricing
  • Ease of useNo software UX to evaluate
  • Feature depthDegrees and courses, not features
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$35,167/yr

Cost of attendance

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Prospective undergrads in Arizona
  • Online degree seekers
  • Transfer students
  • Graduate researchers in large programs

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for software — this is a school, not a tool
  • Teams wanting a CRM or SaaS purchase
  • Buyers needing per-seat pricing or a free tier
  • Out-of-state students on tight budgets

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Data breach claim circulated online in 2026; unverified — treat as unconfirmed.

medium

$35,167/yr is a third-party estimate; real cost varies by residency, program, and fees.

medium

State audit examined Arizona universities' IT security practices, including ASU.

low

Common fees (health and others) stack on top of base tuition.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Large degree catalog with fully online options
  • 24/7, 365-day support via ASU Experience Center
  • Dedicated cybersecurity portal for reporting issues
  • Public tuition estimator and cost calculators
  • Listed in U.S. News and Princeton Review college rankings

Cons

  • University website — no software, API, or integration to buy
  • Roughly $35,167 per year sticker cost
  • Mixed student sentiment; some reviewers call it average
  • Nearly 80 projects canceled after 2025 federal grant revocations
  • 2026 cyberattack on a school system disrupted studies

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 10 sources - No product to patch; university IT shows a 2026 cyberattack on a system ASU uses, an unverified breach claim, and a state IT security audit.

official x3review x3security x2news x2
  • Cyberattack disrupted system used by ASU (May 2026), A system used by schools including ASU went offline after a cyberattack and was restored days later.
  • Unverified data breach claim, A social media post claims ASU was targeted in a data breach; no official confirmation appears in the sources reviewed.
  • State audit of university IT security, Arizona's auditor reviewed IT security at Arizona universities, including ASU.

Key stats

  • Support quality: 4/5

    Rating

  • $35,167/yr

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. University tuition, not product pricing
  • Ease of use. No software UX to evaluate
  • Feature depth. Degrees and courses, not features
  • Support quality: 4/5. 24/7 Experience Center support documented
  • Security posture: 3/5. Audit plus 2026 incidents; dedicated security office
  • $35,167/yr Annual cost Tuition and fees, third-party estimate
  • 24/7 Support hours ASU Experience Center, 365 days
  • ~80 Projects canceled (2025) After federal grant funding revoked

Pricing

Cost of attendance

$35,167/yr

  • Tuition and fees (third-party estimate)
  • Varies by residency and program
  • Official estimator at tuition.asu.edu

Security

No product to patch; university IT shows a 2026 cyberattack on a system ASU uses, an unverified breach claim, and a state IT security audit.

  • Cyberattack disrupted system used by ASU (May 2026)A system used by schools including ASU went offline after a cyberattack and was restored days later.⁷
  • Unverified data breach claimA social media post claims ASU was targeted in a data breach; no official confirmation appears in the sources reviewed.10
  • State audit of university IT securityArizona's auditor reviewed IT security at Arizona universities, including ASU.⁹

What users say

Reddit sentiment is mixed, with posters debating whether ASU is average or underrated and split opinions on ASU Online.

“ASU is a fairly average”
Reddit, r/ASU
“Why is ASU seen as a bad school?”
Reddit, r/ASU
“Hearing mixed opinions about ASU online?”
Reddit, r/ASUOnline

Companies that use it

  • Salesforce
  • Olark
  • Arista
Full analysis

Based on 10+ public sources; all evidence describes a university, not a software product. CVE hits for 'ASU' refer to OpenWrt's Attended SysUpgrade tool, an unrelated product, and were excluded.

asu.edu is Arizona State University — a school, not software. Nothing to buy or deploy; only relevant if you want a degree.

Methodology

Based on 10+ public sources; all evidence describes a university, not a software product. CVE hits for 'ASU' refer to OpenWrt's Attended SysUpgrade tool, an unrelated product, and were excluded.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. news
  8. news
  9. security
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.