shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Audible.com?

Try Audible free for 30 days. Discover best-selling audiobooks, free podcasts, and exclusive Audible Originals. Listen offline with the Audible app. - audible.com

Depends. Buy it if you finish one or more books a month — the $14.95 credit plus Plus Catalog pays for itself. Skip it if you listen occasionally; buy titles outright or use free library apps instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14+ public sources; many search snippets were truncated, so some details rely on category knowledge marked as guesses.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

30 days free

Free trial

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
PlusLower-cost tier (exact price not shown in evidence)
Premium Plus$14.95/mo

Best for

  • Commuters and heavy listeners
  • People finishing 1+ books monthly
  • Podcast plus audiobook consumers
  • Amazon ecosystem households

Not for

  • Light listeners under one book a month
  • Anyone wanting DRM-free, portable audio files
  • Budget listeners happy with free library apps
  • People who mostly listen to free podcasts

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Trial auto-renews to paid membership; billing-charge complaints appear on Reddit

medium

Credit plans favor heavy listeners; unused credits mean lost money

medium

Prices vary by region and user; sale prices reportedly differ between accounts

medium

Trustpilot reviews flag customer-service and cancellation friction

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 30-day free trial with full access before paying
  • Offline listening on mature iOS and Android apps
  • Plus Catalog gives unlimited listening beyond monthly credits
  • Huge catalog: bestsellers, exclusives, and free podcasts
  • Amazon-backed with a public HackerOne bug bounty program

Cons

  • Subscription punishes light listeners; Reddit debates worth repeatedly
  • Users report unexpected membership charges on debit cards
  • Regional price gaps — users cite 50% standard-price differences
  • Guess: purchases are DRM-bound to the Audible ecosystem

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/22/2026 - 10 sources - Amazon-backed with a HackerOne bug bounty and 2FA support; one 2017 CVE in Audible software, nothing recent found.

official x2review x4security x2news x2
  • CVE-2017-17069 — Amazon Audible software, Disclosed publicly on the Full Disclosure mailing list in December 2017; no recent CVEs found for the current Android app.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • 30 days free

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Good for heavy listeners; Reddit debates worth for casual ones.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Polished iOS/Android apps, offline listening, Amazon sign-in.
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Huge catalog, Originals, Plus Catalog, podcasts, offline mode.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Trustpilot page plus Reddit billing-charge complaints.
  • Security posture: 4/5. Amazon-backed, HackerOne bug bounty, 2FA; one old CVE.
  • 9/10 CNET rating Editor review
  • $14.95/mo Classic plan price Credit plan, per Reddit users
  • 30 days Free trial Auto-renews to paid membership
  • Amazon Owner Subsidiary since 2008

Pricing

Free trial

30 days free

  • Full access during trial
  • Auto-renews to paid plan

Plus

Lower-cost tier (exact price not shown in evidence)

  • Unlimited Plus Catalog listening
  • Podcasts and Originals included

Premium Plus

$14.95/mo

  • Monthly credit for any audiobook
  • Everything in Plus
  • Keep purchased books

Security

Amazon-backed with a HackerOne bug bounty and 2FA support; one 2017 CVE in Audible software, nothing recent found.

  • CVE-2017-17069 — Amazon Audible softwareDisclosed publicly on the Full Disclosure mailing list in December 2017; no recent CVEs found for the current Android app.⁷

What users say

Reddit and app-store sentiment leans positive for heavy listeners, with recurring complaints about billing, pricing variance, and value for casual users.

Full analysis

Based on 14+ public sources; many search snippets were truncated, so some details rely on category knowledge marked as guesses.

Great for heavy listeners; casual listeners overpay. 30-day free trial, then from $14.95/mo. Watch auto-renewal.

Methodology

Based on 14+ public sources; many search snippets were truncated, so some details rely on category knowledge marked as guesses.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. security
  8. security
  9. news
  10. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.