shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Autonomous — AI hardware workshop?

Welcome to the AI hardware workshop. Software got AI. Hardware didn't. So we build devices that do. - autonomous.ai

Depends. A solid pick for standing desks, chairs, and work pods — long-running brand with positive owner feedback. But the new AI robots, Harness, and the $26,100 computer have almost no independent reviews, so wait before buying those.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; independent reviews cover the furniture line only, not the new AI hardware.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo user evidence found
  • Feature depthNo independent product testing found
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$149

Harness Device

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Autonomous Lamp$499
WorkPodNot listed in sources
Autonomous Computer$26,100

Best for

  • Home-office desk upgrades
  • Ergonomic chair shoppers
  • Gadget tinkerers
  • Teams buying work pods

Not for

  • Anyone wanting independently reviewed, mature AI hardware
  • Buyers without a $26,100 budget for on-prem AI
  • Teams that want software-only AI, not physical devices
  • Risk-averse enterprise procurement teams

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Autonomous Computer is $26,100 — confirm you truly need on-prem AI hardware first

medium

AI robots and Harness are new; third-party review coverage is nearly nonexistent yet

medium

Regional markup: Lamp costs €531.19 in EU vs $499 in US

medium

Lookalike sites using the brand appear in search results; verify you're on before paying

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Standing desks and chairs praised as solid value by long-term owners
  • Broad catalog: desks, chairs, pods, lamps, robots, computers
  • Low entry point: Harness Device at $149
  • Regional storefronts with local pricing across US, UK, EU, Canada
  • Publishes a product security page

Cons

  • New AI devices (Lamp, Harness, robots) lack independent reviews
  • Autonomous Computer costs $26,100
  • Brand pivoted from office furniture to 'AI workshop' — focus unclear
  • European prices run above US (Lamp €531 vs $499)
  • Sells toys next to work hardware — quality expectations vary wildly

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 7 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x2security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $149

    Starting price

  • 7

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Desks called decent price; AI devices unproven
  • Ease of use. No user evidence found
  • Feature depth. No independent product testing found
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes security page; no incidents found
  • $149 Entry price Harness Device
  • $499 Autonomous Lamp Marketed as a personal robot
  • $26,100 Autonomous Computer On-prem AI computer
  • 1M+ Claimed audience Store claim: 'Loved by 1M+ eng...'

Pricing

Harness Device

$149

  • Personal AI harness
  • Cheapest entry point

Autonomous Lamp

$499

  • Marketed as a personal robot
  • Desk-lamp form factor

WorkPod

Not listed in sources

  • Personal work pod

Autonomous Computer

$26,100

  • On-prem AI computer

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Furniture buyers report satisfaction years later, but there is almost no independent feedback on the new AI devices.

“Solid desks decent price. I actually love their chairs too.”
ResetEra forum
“If you're looking for a new set up I recommend them :)”
X (Twitter) user

Alternatives

Compare Autonomous — AI hardware workshop with each alternative.

  • Cloud GPUs (AWS, Lambda)

    Rent GPU capacity instead of a $26k on-prem box.

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; independent reviews cover the furniture line only, not the new AI hardware.

Trusted standing-desk brand now selling unproven AI gadgets — desks yes, robots and $26k computer wait.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; independent reviews cover the furniture line only, not the new AI hardware.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Autonomous storeautonomous.ai
    official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.