shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Barnes & Noble Press?

Sign up for the B&N Press Monthly Newsletter! - barnesandnoblepress.com

Depends. Use B&N Press as a supplementary channel for NOOK readers and quality print-on-demand hardcovers. Don't make it your primary platform — KDP and IngramSpark offer bigger reach and competitive royalties.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 15 public sources; mostly indie-author community posts, third-party guides, and official B&N Press pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

70% royalty to author

Ebook publishing

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Print on demandUnder $9/copy print cost (author-reported)

Best for

  • Indie authors wanting NOOK/BN.com reach
  • Print-on-demand hardcovers and paperbacks
  • Authors adding a second channel after KDP
  • Ebook authors wanting a flat 70% royalty

Not for

  • Authors wanting wide bookstore and library distribution — use IngramSpark
  • First-timers wanting done-for-you publishing services
  • Authors unwilling to manage another dashboard for modest extra reach
  • Anyone needing guaranteed uptime — 2026 outage hit Press and NOOK

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Paperbacks pay only 55% royalty — compare against KDP before committing

medium

Platform suffered a systems failure interrupting B&N Press and NOOK functions

medium

B&N warns authors about scammers falsely representing Barnes & Noble

low

Print books carry a minimum list price, capping how cheap you can sell

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Flat 70% ebook royalty — simple and competitive
  • Quality print-on-demand; one author paid under $9 per copy
  • Strong print options and a valuable second sales channel
  • Chat support available directly to authors
  • Listed among top US book printing services alongside Lulu and BookBaby

Cons

  • Paperback royalty is 55% — below some competitors
  • 2026 systems failure interrupted B&N Press and NOOK functions
  • Scammers impersonate B&N Press to target authors; official warning issued
  • Smaller reach than Amazon KDP; many authors publish there first
  • Wide distribution requires third-party aggregators like Draft2Digital or Kobo

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 15 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x8security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • 70% royalty to author

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Flat 70% ebook royalty; POD under $9/copy
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Simple price, publish, track-sales flow
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Ebook plus POD, but wide distribution needs aggregators
  • Support quality: 3/5. Chat support offered, but 2026 outage hit functions
  • Security posture: 3/5. No breaches found; one reported system failure
  • 70% flat Ebook royalty on ebooks sold via B&N/NOOK
  • 55% Paperback royalty per B&N sale
  • under $9/copy POD print cost author-reported
  • $390M B&N Nook funding raised over 2 rounds

Pricing

Ebook publishing

70% royalty to author

  • Flat 70% royalty on ebooks
  • Sold through NOOK and BN.com

Print on demand

Under $9/copy print cost (author-reported)

  • Paperbacks and hardcovers, no inventory
  • 55% royalty on paperback sales

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Authors praise print quality and low per-copy costs, but community threads show most treat B&N Press as a secondary channel after KDP and IngramSpark.

“I uploaded my book to KDP and Ingram Sparks using an ISBN that I purchased.”
Reddit, r/selfpublish
“It cost less than $9 per copy from Barnes and Noble press”
Instagram author post
“Has anyone published with Barnes and Noble Press? How's it work, do you like it and do your books actually”
Facebook author group
Full analysis

Based on 15 public sources; mostly indie-author community posts, third-party guides, and official B&N Press pages.

Strong second channel for indie authors: flat 70% ebook royalty, cheap POD. Weak as a primary platform vs KDP.

Methodology

Based on 15 public sources; mostly indie-author community posts, third-party guides, and official B&N Press pages.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. news
  5. official
  6. official
  7. official
  8. Contact B&N Press (official)help-press.barnesandnoble.com
    official
  9. security
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. news
  15. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.