shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Bartonreading?

Barton Reading & Spelling System - bartonreading.com

Depends. Worth buying if a committed parent or tutor will deliver one-on-one Orton-Gillingham sessions to a dyslexic learner over years. Skip it if you want self-serve, app-based, or whole-class reading help.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources. No official pricing figures surfaced; user reviews skew toward homeschool parents and tutors.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct evidence on vendor support
  • Security postureOffline curriculum; no security evidence

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Homeschooling parents of dyslexic kids
  • Dyslexia tutors and specialists
  • Schools running Tier 3 intervention
  • Older struggling readers and teens

Not for

  • Parents wanting an app or self-serve program a child does alone
  • Kids without dyslexia who just need light reading practice — overkill
  • Families unable to run frequent 1-on-1 sessions for years
  • Schools wanting a whole-class curriculum without tutor training

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Per-level pricing is high; no free tier or trial surfaced in sources

medium

Outsourcing means paying certified tutors; their training also costs money

medium

Progress stalls when sessions lapse; some families need breaks or switch programs

low

Not a quick fix: ten levels means a multi-year commitment

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Orton-Gillingham-based, built specifically for dyslexia
  • Ten levels span young beginners through older students
  • Parents report rapid reading gains once tutoring starts
  • Used by schools and districts for Tier 3 dyslexia intervention
  • Active resale market for used levels softens the cost

Cons

  • Demands a trained, committed parent or tutor every session
  • Some families report stalls, breaks, or abandonment
  • Steep cost drives many families to hunt used levels
  • Delivered person-to-person; not a self-serve program

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/04/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x8security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Costly enough that used-level resale is common
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Heavy parent/tutor training and prep
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Ten levels, beginners through adults
  • Support quality. No direct evidence on vendor support
  • Security posture. Offline curriculum; no security evidence
  • 10 Levels Levels 6-10 cover older students
  • Orton-Gillingham Method Structured literacy for dyslexia
  • 1-on-1 Delivery Parent or trained tutor required
  • Active Used market Many families buy or trade used levels

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Parents widely report strong gains for dyslexic kids with consistent one-on-one sessions, while a vocal minority report stalls, boredom, or switching programs.

Alternatives

Compare Bartonreading with each alternative.

  • Certified OG tutor

    Guess: hire an Orton-Gillingham tutor instead of running it yourself

Companies that use it

  • The Learning Center (Madisonville)
  • Bridge the Gap Learning Center
  • Alliance K-8 school
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources. No official pricing figures surfaced; user reviews skew toward homeschool parents and tutors.

Proven OG dyslexia curriculum — but tutor-led, costly, slow-burn. Committed parents win; casual buyers pass.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources. No official pricing figures surfaced; user reviews skew toward homeschool parents and tutors.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.