shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Bettermode Review

Depends

Should I use Bettermode?

All-in-one customer community platform — branded portals, support forums, engagement hubs. - bettermode.com

· 1 month ago

Buy only if you're a mid-market or enterprise team with real budget ($4.8k–$18k/year) and admin time for a branded customer community. Small teams or casual forum needs should not — the entry price and paywalled basics make it a serious purchase.

Confidence

High. Based on 14 public sources; pricing corroborated across vendor and third-party pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityEvidence incomplete; no reliable signal.
  • Security posture

Pricing

$399/month ($4,788/year)

Starter

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Growth$1,500/month ($18,000/year)

Best for

  • SaaS teams scaling branded customer communities
  • Support teams deflecting tickets via forums and KB
  • Marketing/CS teams betting on community-led retention

Not for

  • Small teams wanting a cheap forum or Discord replacement
  • Anyone needing API/webhooks on a starter budget
  • Teams wanting open-source or self-hosted control
  • Communities under a few thousand members — pay less elsewhere

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Free plan removed and entry price raised to $399/month — Trustpilot reviewers flag this as a trust problem.

high

OAuth2, API, and webhooks are paid extras even on the $1,500/month Growth plan.

medium

Starter caps at 10,000 members and 5 collaborators, with only basic analytics.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Praised on G2 for ease of use and no-code customization.
  • Covers forums, knowledge base, feedback, events, academies in one tool.
  • Strong compliance claims: SOC 2, GDPR/CCPA, third-party penetration tests.
  • Competitors call it polished, modern, and purpose-built for customer communities.

Cons

  • Entry price jumped from $50 to $399/month; free plan killed.
  • Growth plan costs $1,500/month yet paywalls API, webhooks, OAuth2.
  • Closed-source, vendor-locked hosted portal; you cannot self-host.
  • Third-party reviewer judges it adequate only for basic discussion structure.

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x7security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $399/month ($4,788/year)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Free tier cut; API costs extra at $1,500.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 reviewers praise no-code customization.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Forums, KB, feedback, events, academies in one.
  • Support quality. Evidence incomplete; no reliable signal.
  • Security posture: 4/5. SOC 2, GDPR, pen tests — all self-reported.
  • $399/mo Starting price $4,788/year billed
  • None Free tier Removed; entry was once $50/mo
  • 4.8/5 Product Hunt 10 reviews — tiny sample
  • 10,000 members Starter cap 5 collaborators included

Pricing

Starter

$399/month ($4,788/year)

  • Branded community, up to 10,000 members
  • 5 collaborators, custom domain
  • Basic analytics, core apps

Growth

$1,500/month ($18,000/year)

  • Up to 25,000 members
  • Built for scaling SaaS communities
  • API/webhooks/OAuth2 sold as extras

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise ease of use and customization, but recent reviews focus heavily on anger over the pricing changes.

“Bettermode has chosen to change their plan options, removing the free plan and raising the price of a subscription from $50 a month to $399 a month.”
Trustpilot review
“It does a decent job for discussion-based communities or internal hubs that just need basic structure and clean”
GroupApp review, 2025
“A well-thought community platform with integrations that made us focus more on driving growth”
GetApp review, 2018
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; pricing corroborated across vendor and third-party pages.

Polished community platform, but $399–$1,500/mo and paywalled API make it enterprise territory, not a Slack swap.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; pricing corroborated across vendor and third-party pages.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. security
  3. review
  4. review
  5. Capterra listingcapterra.com
    review
  6. Product Hunt reviewsproducthunt.com
    review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. review
  10. GetApp reviewsgetapp.co.uk
    review

Add this review to your site

This check for Bettermode says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.