shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Boaterexam?

Boating License Course & Official Online Boat Exam - boaterexam.com

Worth it. Buy it if your state or province requires a boater card: official, self-paced, one-time ~$40–50 fee. Skip it if you're already certified, want on-water instruction, or need commercial licensing.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 13 public sources; some snippets truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depthNo feature evidence in sources
  • Support quality
  • Security postureOnly a marketing security page found

Pricing

One-time course fee

$40–$49.95 (varies by state/province)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • First-time boaters needing a legal card
  • Canadian PCOC seekers
  • Self-paced online learners

Not for

  • Boaters already holding a card
  • Anyone wanting on-water, in-person instruction
  • Guess: commercial or USCG licensing seekers (recreational course only)

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Card delivery can take time; help center has a 'Where Is My Card?' article.

low

Budget for state fees: ~$40 course plus ~$10 state fee.

low

Pricing varies by state — check your state page before paying.

low

Promo codes up to 40% off circulate; don't pay full price.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Official online boat exam, approved in many US states and Canada
  • One-time fee; certification lasts a lifetime
  • Long track record: 17,764 Trustpilot reviews
  • Free study guide and free paddling course available
  • Reddit users recommend it for PCOC and state courses

Cons

  • State fee (~$10) added on top of course price
  • Prices vary by state; rivals may be cheaper where you live
  • Some online-course buyers report legitimacy confusion ('scammed?')

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x5security x1news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $40–$49.95 (varies by state/province)

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. One-time $40–50 for lifetime certification
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Self-paced online; Reddit users liked it
  • Feature depth. No feature evidence in sources
  • Support quality: 3/5. Help center and toll-free line exist
  • Security posture. Only a marketing security page found
  • 17,764 Trustpilot reviews customer reviews on Trustpilot
  • $49.95 Starting price one-time fee (New York); ~$40 + $10 state fee per Reddit users
  • Yes Free tier free study guide and free paddling course
  • $1.2M Crunchbase figure reported this year (funding or revenue unclear)

Pricing

One-time course fee

$40–$49.95 (varies by state/province)

  • Official online boating safety exam
  • Boater card / PCOC issued on passing
  • Free study guide included

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit users generally recommend Boaterexam for Canadian PCOC and US state courses, backed by 17,764 Trustpilot reviews.

“Personally, I really liked boatere”
Reddit, r/vancouver
“I did mine at boaterexam.”
Reddit, r/ontario
“Boaterexam - ~$40 + $10 state fee”
Reddit, u/Recademics
Full analysis

Based on 13 public sources; some snippets truncated.

Cheap, official one-time boating certification. Buy if the law requires it; skip if already licensed or want hands-on training.

Methodology

Based on 13 public sources; some snippets truncated.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. news
  8. Boaterexam help centerhelp.boaterexam.com
    official
  9. news
  10. news
  11. security
  12. review
  13. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.