shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Boatus?

Skip to content - boatus.org

Worth it. Buy if you own a boat: the Foundation's online safety course is free and basic membership runs $25/year. Skip it if you don't boat; for towing or insurance, compare Sea Tow, Progressive, and State Farm first.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~24 public sources; most snippets truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct evidence
  • Feature depthNot a software product
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Boating safety course

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Basic Membership$25/year
Towing plansVaries

Best for

  • New boaters needing a free safety course
  • Coastal boaters near TowBoatUS fleets
  • Budget-minded boaters wanting cheap dues
  • PWC owners taking required courses

Not for

  • Non-boaters — irrelevant without a boat
  • Inland lake boaters far from BoatUS dispatch boats
  • Insurance shoppers burned by GEICO pricing
  • Anyone expecting a software product — it's a boating association

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Verify a TowBoatUS dispatch boat actually operates near your waters before paying

medium

Renewal price hikes reported; one member saw the cost double

medium

Insurance underwritten via GEICO after the switch; members report premium jumps

medium

Towing is an add-on beyond basic membership; upsells questioned by members

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free online boating safety course and study guides
  • Basic membership costs $25/year
  • Foundation wins U.S. Coast Guard grants for safety work
  • Free mobile app with weather and tides

Cons

  • Long-time member reports ~40% insurance premium hike after GEICO switch
  • Towing coverage depends on service area; inland lake boaters underserved
  • Members report towing renewal costs roughly doubling
  • Mixed customer-service reputation on review sites

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free course; $25/yr membership
  • Ease of use. No direct evidence
  • Feature depth. Not a software product
  • Support quality: 2/5. Complaint-focused Trustpilot and PissedConsumer pages
  • Security posture: 4/5. No CVEs listed for its iOS app
  • $25/yr Starting price Basic BoatUS membership
  • Free Free safety course BoatUS Foundation online course
  • 67 Yelp reviews Springfield, VA office

Pricing

Boating safety course

Free

  • BoatUS Foundation online course
  • Study guides included

Basic Membership

$25/year

  • Base association membership

Towing plans

Varies

  • On-water towing add-on
  • Unlimited options offered

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Boaters value the towing service but complain about service-area limits, renewal price hikes, and insurance pricing.

“BoatUS switched to Geico Insurance and raised my premium nearly 40% after 17 years with no claims.”
Reddit, r/boating
“Is BoatUS worth it if you mainly boat in >1000 acre lakes and outside of their direct service areas?”
Reddit, r/boating
“Tow boatUs renewal twice the cost?”
Cruisers Forum

Alternatives

Compare Boatus with each alternative.

  • Sea Tow

    Rival on-water towing service; compare local coverage and response times.

    Boatus vs Sea Tow
  • Boat-Ed

    Alternative online boating safety course, compared against free options.

    Boatus vs Boat-Ed
  • Progressive

    Boat insurance alternative Reddit boaters mention after rate hikes.

Full analysis

Based on ~24 public sources; most snippets truncated.

Free boating safety courses plus a $25/yr membership; great for boaters, pointless if you don't own a boat.

Methodology

Based on ~24 public sources; most snippets truncated.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. news
  10. official
  11. review
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.