shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Boldin?

DIY retirement and financial planning software (formerly NewRetirement) - boldin.com

Worth it. Buy if you are a serious DIY retirement planner willing to invest hours of data entry for deep scenario and tax modeling. Skip it if you want quick estimates, hands-off advice, or refuse to link financial accounts.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources (Reddit threads, review sites, official pages, funding data).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Basic

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
PlannerPlusfrom $120/yr
Coaching / Full Review$2,800 one-time

Best for

  • Serious DIY retirement planners
  • Pre-retirees modeling withdrawals and Roth conversions
  • FIRE community followers
  • Households consolidating all accounts in one plan

Not for

  • Anyone wanting a 10-minute retirement estimate
  • People unwilling to grind through detailed data entry
  • Hands-off investors who want managed advice
  • Privacy-cautious users who won't link accounts

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

PlannerPlus price rising for new subscribers only; earlier joiners pay less

medium

Users report surprise over which account data is shared; check linking settings carefully

medium

$2,800 full review with a coach is a big upsell; subscribers dispute its value

low

Free tier is a funnel; community warns real use needs the paid plan

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free tier for basic retirement planning
  • Deep scenario and Roth conversion tools
  • Large user base: 250,000+ planners
  • Reviewed as a calculator on steroids
  • Adopted by major brands like Nationwide

Cons

  • Data entry and setup effort questioned by users
  • PlannerPlus price increasing for new subscribers
  • Free version reportedly too limited for real planning
  • $2,800 coaching add-on's value disputed
  • Users raise data-sharing and privacy worries

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 14 sources - Boldin states it adheres to SOC2; no breaches or CVEs found in sources reviewed, though users raise data-linking privacy questions.

official x4review x7security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cheap vs advisors, but worth-it threads abound
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Users question data-entry effort and setup
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Called calculator on steroids; deep Roth tools
  • Support quality: 3/5. $2,800 CFP review value debated by subscribers
  • Security posture: 4/5. SOC2 claimed; no public breaches found
  • 250,000+ Users self-reported planners
  • $0 Starting price free tier; PlannerPlus from $120/yr
  • $42M Funding total raised (PitchBook)
  • Yes Free tier Basic planner is free

Pricing

Basic

$0

  • Free DIY planner
  • Basic retirement modeling

PlannerPlus

from $120/yr

  • Advanced scenarios and Roth tools
  • Price rising for new subscribers

Coaching / Full Review

$2,800 one-time

  • Full review with a Boldin coach
  • Value debated by subscribers

Security

Boldin states it adheres to SOC2; no breaches or CVEs found in sources reviewed, though users raise data-linking privacy questions.

What users say

Users praise the planning depth but repeatedly debate whether the subscription is worth it, complain about setup effort, and question account-linking privacy.

“Is Boldin (formerly NewRetirement) worth $120/year?”
Reddit, r/ChubbyFIRE
“Is entering info into Boldin easy or a pain in the ass?”
Reddit, r/Boldin
“Worth it to keep paying for retirement planning software?”
Reddit, r/DIYRetirement

Companies that use it

  • Nationwide14
  • Inspira Financial
  • Wealth Enhancement
  • Slavic401k
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources (Reddit threads, review sites, official pages, funding data).

Deep DIY retirement planner with strong tax/Roth tools; free tier exists but setup is heavy and value is debated at $120+/yr.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources (Reddit threads, review sites, official pages, funding data).

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. security
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. official
  11. review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.