shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Bookboon?

Video-led professional development and professional eBooks - bookboon.com

Depends. Buy if you want affordable micro-learning content (eBooks, short videos, audio) to sit alongside an existing LMS. Skip if you need full training management, published pricing, or want to avoid the Access Group ecosystem.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets truncated, and pricing details are gated behind the trial signup.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability data in reviewed sources.
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free eBooks

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Access Bookboon subscriptionFree 30-day trial, then paid (price unpublished)

Best for

  • Budget-conscious self-learners
  • SMBs wanting micro-learning content
  • Academics needing free textbooks
  • HR teams already on Access Group tools

Not for

  • Teams needing a full LMS with tracking and compliance
  • Buyers who demand transparent, published pricing
  • Anyone avoiding Access Group ecosystem lock-in
  • Learners wanting accredited, deep certifications

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Exact subscription price is unpublished — the 'then $' figure appears only after trial signup.

medium

Access Group ownership means likely upsell toward its wider HR and learning ecosystem.

medium

Recent customer-service complaints appear on PissedConsumer; test support responsiveness during the trial.

low

The free textbook model was ad-funded back in 2012; today's free access is narrower.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Large free eBook library across business, math, engineering
  • Free 30-day trial of the paid library
  • eBooks plus video micro-learning and audio editions
  • Enterprise credibility: Standard Bank uses it for learning
  • Acquired by The Access Group, adding backing and stability

Cons

  • Subscription price not published; trial signup gates the paywall
  • Only 47 Trustpilot reviews — thin review signal
  • Absorbed into Access Group; now sold as 'Access Bookboon'
  • Customer service complaints documented on PissedConsumer
  • Positioned as learning content, not a complete LMS

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x5security x2news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Big free library; trial gates paid tier.
  • Ease of use. No usability data in reviewed sources.
  • Feature depth: 3/5. eBooks, video, audio; content library, not LMS.
  • Support quality: 2/5. PissedConsumer complaints page exists; little praise found.
  • Security posture: 3/5. Published security page; 78/100 scanner trust score.
  • 47 Trustpilot reviews www.bookboon.com profile
  • 30 days Free trial Then paid subscription
  • 2022 Acquired By The Access Group
  • $1.8M Crunchbase figure Recent-year estimate

Pricing

Free eBooks

$0

  • Free textbook and business eBook library
  • Historically ad-supported model

Access Bookboon subscription

Free 30-day trial, then paid (price unpublished)

  • Full professional library
  • Video micro-learning and audio editions

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Feedback is sparse (47 Trustpilot ratings), and Reddit chatter praises the free textbook library more than the paid corporate product.

“Ever seen book boon? Lots and lots of free math ...”
Reddit, r/math

Alternatives

Compare Bookboon with each alternative.

  • LinkedIn Learning

    Broader video course library, similar per-seat pricing.

  • Udemy Business

    Large course catalog; pay for what teams use.

  • Coursera for Business

    University-backed courses and certificates for deeper learning.

  • OpenStax / OER libraries

    Free open textbooks; zero-budget option for academics.

Companies that use it

  • Standard Bank10
  • King's College Hospital
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets truncated, and pricing details are gated behind the trial signup.

Solid free eBook library now wrapped in Access Group's paid subscription; good cheap content, not a full LMS.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets truncated, and pricing details are gated behind the trial signup.

Sources

  1. review
  2. official
  3. news
  4. review
  5. news
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. review
  10. news
  11. news
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.