shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use BookLife?

Reviews, Prize, Self-Pub 101, Authors, Books, Services — Publishers Weekly's site for self-published authors - booklife.com

Depends. Buy only if you're a self-published author who values Publishers Weekly branding enough to pay $399 for a single review. Skip it if you expect guaranteed positive, human-written coverage — some users report AI-generated reviews.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~50 public sources; pricing confirmed via third-party comparison sites, not BookLife directly. Authors (not companies) named as users.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable evidence in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable evidence in sources
  • Security postureNo security findings either way

Pricing

$399

PW BookLife Review

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Self-published authors seeking PW credibility
  • Authors with pre-launch marketing budget
  • Indie authors entering fiction/nonfiction prizes

Not for

  • Traditionally published authors — you already have trade review access
  • Budget-constrained authors — $399 for one review won't move sales alone
  • Anyone expecting guaranteed glowing coverage — reviews are editorially independent
  • UK buyers of 'BookLife' children's books — that's a different, unrelated publisher

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Multiple Reddit users allege reviews were AI-generated rather than human-written.

medium

$399 buys one review with no guaranteed positive verdict — editorial independence applies.

low

Easily confused with BookLife Publishing, an unrelated UK children's publisher.

low

The Prize runs separately with its own categories and rules — read the FAQs before entering.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Publishers Weekly affiliation gives indie books trade-adjacent credibility.
  • Annual BookLife Prize spans fiction, nonfiction, and middle-grade categories.
  • Free self-publishing guides, news, and author resources on the site.
  • Services directory connects authors to editors, agents, and marketers.
  • Named among IngramSpark's four pro review services for indie authors.

Cons

  • $399 per review is steep for a single critique.
  • Users report receiving AI-generated reviews.
  • Some self-publishing community members call the service a scam.
  • Name collision with UK's BookLife Publishing confuses buyers.

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x3security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $399

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. $399 for one review; AI-review complaints
  • Ease of use. No usable evidence in sources
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Reviews, prize contest, guides, services directory
  • Support quality. No usable evidence in sources
  • Security posture. No security findings either way
  • $399 PW review price per BookLife review, per third-party comparisons
  • 2019 Paid reviews since launched Oct 2019 for self-pub authors
  • Publishers Weekly Backed by PW's dedicated self-publishing site
  • 4 pro review services Listed among IngramSpark's recommended list for indies

Pricing

PW BookLife Review

$399

  • Publishers Weekly reviewer critique
  • Scored on execution, character, and other criteria

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Alternatives

Compare BookLife with each alternative.

  • Guess: Kirkus Indie

    Established paid indie review option from a legacy trade outlet.

Full analysis

Based on ~50 public sources; pricing confirmed via third-party comparison sites, not BookLife directly. Authors (not companies) named as users.

PW-branded paid book reviews at $399 each; real indie credibility, but AI-review complaints and steep pricing hurt.

Methodology

Based on ~50 public sources; pricing confirmed via third-party comparison sites, not BookLife directly. Authors (not companies) named as users.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. official
  4. official
  5. news
  6. news
  7. review
  8. news
  9. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.