shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use BookShark?

Discover the benefits of BookShark's homeschool curriculum. Teach your child with quality books and get everything you need in each package. - bookshark.com

Depends. Buy if you homeschool secularly, love books and read-alouds, and can spend several hundred dollars a year. Skip if you're budget-tight, your child is a reluctant reader, or you want independent, screen-led learning.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources: Reddit and forum threads, homeschool review blogs, official pricing pages, and state breach filings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

from ~$300

All-Subject Package

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Single-subject packagesvaries

Best for

  • Secular homeschooling families
  • Read-aloud-loving parents
  • All-in-one package seekers
  • ESA- or charter-funded households

Not for

  • Tight budgets — packages run $300+
  • Kids who hate reading or read-alouds
  • Families wanting independent, screen-based learning
  • Parents avoiding heavy day-to-day teaching

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

BookShark LLC disclosed a data breach; Massachusetts assigned breach #15948

medium

High upfront cost per year; payment plan added April 2025 signals the pain

medium

Levels use age spans, not grades — bad placement is costly to fix

low

No public security page on

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Consistently praised by homeschool parents as flexible and engaging
  • Secular, literature-based option in a faith-heavy market
  • Instructor's guides coordinate a full schedule for parents
  • Approved ESA vendor in Florida and Arizona
  • Payment plan and free sample book lower entry risk

Cons

  • Cost is the most common complaint in reviews
  • Reading-heavy approach can overwhelm reluctant readers
  • Some families bounce off it entirely
  • Age-based levels complicate placement; wrong level is expensive
  • Disclosed data breach raises privacy questions

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/24/2026 - 8 sources - One or more disclosed data-breach incidents; no security page.

official x3review x3security x2
  • Data breach disclosure, BookShark LLC disclosed a security incident; Massachusetts assigned breach number 15948.
  • Second incident tracker entry, A separate disclosed BookShark LLC incident appears in the Board Cybersecurity incident tracker.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • from ~$300

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Cost is the most frequent complaint
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Instructor's guides and flexible scheduling praised
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full-subject packages, ages 5-7 through high school
  • Support quality: 3/5. Text support, payment plans, parent bootcamps
  • Security posture: 2/5. Disclosed breach; no public security page
  • ~$300+ Starting price complete all-subject packages
  • Yes Free sample one free book per family
  • FL + AZ ESA approved state education savings accounts
  • Disclosed Data breach Massachusetts breach #15948

Pricing

All-Subject Package

from ~$300

  • Full-year books plus instructor's guide
  • Reading with History, Science, Language Arts, Math

Single-subject packages

varies

  • History, Science, or Language Arts separately
  • Exact prices not shown in sources reviewed

Security

One or more disclosed data-breach incidents; no security page.

  • Data breach disclosureBookShark LLC disclosed a security incident; Massachusetts assigned breach number 15948.⁷
  • Second incident tracker entryA separate disclosed BookShark LLC incident appears in the Board Cybersecurity incident tracker.

Alternatives

Compare BookShark with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources: Reddit and forum threads, homeschool review blogs, official pricing pages, and state breach filings.

Beloved literature-based secular curriculum — but pricey, read-aloud heavy, and a disclosed data breach dings trust.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources: Reddit and forum threads, homeschool review blogs, official pricing pages, and state breach filings.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. security
  8. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.