shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Boot.dev Review

Depends

Should I use Boot.dev?

Learn to code from scratch with hands-on lessons, a structured curriculum, and real projects. Stop watching tutorials, start writing code for free now. - boot.dev

· 1 month ago

Buy if you're a self-learner targeting backend development in Go, Python, or TypeScript — the free tier is genuinely praised. Skip it if you want frontend skills, a job guarantee, or accredited credentials.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources; many snippets truncated and exact membership pricing not visible, so pricing detail is limited.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Career-switchers into backend development
  • Self-learners tired of video tutorials
  • Go, Python, and TypeScript beginners
  • IT teams upskilling in automation

Not for

  • Frontend, mobile, or data-science job seekers
  • Anyone expecting a job guarantee or placement service
  • Experienced devs — curriculum starts from scratch
  • Learners who won't sustain a consistent study habit

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Exact membership prices not visible in reviewed sources; verify on the pricing page before subscribing.

medium

Users report the GitHub app being added to accounts without authorization; audit connected apps.

medium

Backend-only depth means frontend learners need a second platform.

low

Paid membership alerts exist about falling off after initial momentum; budget time, not just money.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Holds a 5/5 rating on Trustpilot
  • Free content praised even by critical reviewers
  • Gamified, hands-on lessons beat passive tutorial-watching
  • Wins on backend depth versus competing platforms
  • Roughly 30-35 courses across backend topics

Cons

  • Paid students report motivation fall-off mid-curriculum
  • Backend-heavy; light on frontend and adjacent tracks
  • Certificate hiring value questioned by learners
  • No job guarantee; founder says shortcuts don't exist

Sources & method

- 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities; one user report of the Boot.dev GitHub app being added without authorization.

official x1review x8security x1news x3
  • Boot.dev app added to GitHub account without authorization, A GitHub community discussion reports the app being added to a user's account without authorization.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free tier praised; paid membership value debated
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Gamified interactive lessons widely called fun
  • Feature depth: 4/5. ~30+ courses, deepest on backend topics
  • Support quality. No direct support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. One GitHub-app auth report; no breaches found
  • 5/5 Trustpilot rating Customer reviews on Trustpilot
  • ~30-35 Course catalog Courses, mostly backend-focused
  • $8.8M Funding Reported on Crunchbase
  • ~$441K/mo Revenue Reported; launched 2020 as a side project

Pricing

Free tier: Yes

Security

No known vulnerabilities; one user report of the Boot.dev GitHub app being added without authorization.

  • Boot.dev app added to GitHub account without authorizationA GitHub community discussion reports the app being added to a user's account without authorization.12

What users say

Users on Reddit and Trustpilot praise the free content and interactive backend curriculum, while some paid members warn about motivation fall-off.

“The free content is awesome.”
Reddit, r/learnprogramming
“You will learn A LOT”
Reddit, r/learnprogramming
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources; many snippets truncated and exact membership pricing not visible, so pricing detail is limited.

Praised backend-focused coding curriculum with a strong free tier; great for backend careers, weak for frontend or job guarantees.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources; many snippets truncated and exact membership pricing not visible, so pricing detail is limited.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. news
  11. news
  12. security
  13. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Boot.dev says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.