shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Braintrust Review

Depends

Should I use Braintrust?

Ship quality agents at scale. Braintrust is the AI observability platform for tracing production, running evals, and catching regressions before they reach users. - braintrust.dev

· 1 month ago

Buy if you ship AI agents in production and want tracing, evals, and regression checks in one well-funded platform. Skip it if you are pre-production, very small, or cannot accept the 2026 breach that exposed customer API keys.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 18+ public sources. Reviews of the similarly named recruiting marketplace (usebraintrust.com) were excluded as a different company; user reviews specific to this product were thin.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo reliable independent user evidence.
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo credible support evidence found.
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Pro$249/mo
EnterpriseCustom

Best for

  • Teams shipping LLM agents in production
  • AI platform engineering orgs
  • Regulated teams needing hybrid data residency
  • Teams consolidating tracing and evals

Not for

  • Pre-production or hobby projects — eval tooling is premature
  • Tiny teams; a self-hosted open-source tool is simpler
  • Orgs unwilling to hand model API keys to a vendor post-breach
  • Non-AI products — zero fit

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

2026 AWS breach exposed customer AI provider API keys; all customers had to rotate credentials.

medium

Pricing cliff: $0 free tier jumps to $249/mo Pro; Enterprise is opaque custom pricing.

medium

Usage-based pass-through of model costs can balloon bills as agent traffic scales.

medium

Guess: deep instrumentation creates lock-in; exporting trace and eval history later is painful.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free tier lets teams start building AI products at $0.
  • Combines production tracing, evals, and regression catching in one platform.
  • Used by teams at Notion, Stripe, Box, and OpenAI.
  • Hybrid deployment lets you control where AI data lives.
  • $80M Series B at ~$800M valuation lowers vendor-shutdown risk.

Cons

  • Confirmed May 2026 breach; every customer forced to rotate API keys.
  • Vendor holds your AI provider keys — breach exposed AWS credentials.
  • Pro tier jumps to $249/month after free.
  • Underlying model costs pass through to your bill.
  • Name collision with a recruiting marketplace muddies reviews and searches.

Sources & method

- 8 sources - Confirmed breach: May 2026 AWS incident exposed customer AI provider API keys; every customer was told to rotate credentials.

official x3review x1security x3news x1
  • AWS breach exposing customer API keys (May 2026), Braintrust confirmed an AWS cloud breach and told every customer to rotate sensitive keys; AI provider credentials were exposed.
  • Package vulnerability AIKIDO-2026-557857, The 'braintrust' package is flagged by Aikido Intel as vulnerable to an insertion flaw.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free tier strong; model costs pass through.
  • Ease of use. No reliable independent user evidence.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Tracing, evals, hybrid deploy, enterprise controls.
  • Support quality. No credible support evidence found.
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2026 breach exposed customer API keys.
  • $0 Starting price Free tier for building AI products
  • $249/mo Paid tier Pro plan, per third-party 2026 breakdown
  • Yes Free tier Enterprise is custom-priced
  • $80M Series B Funding ~$800M valuation, Feb 2026

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Start building AI products free
  • Core evals and tracing
  • Usage limits apply

Pro

$249/mo

  • Higher usage limits
  • Team features
  • Per third-party 2026 review

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • SSO and admin controls
  • Hybrid deployment, data residency
  • Terms detailed in billing FAQ

Security

Confirmed breach: May 2026 AWS incident exposed customer AI provider API keys; every customer was told to rotate credentials.

  • AWS breach exposing customer API keys (May 2026)Braintrust confirmed an AWS cloud breach and told every customer to rotate sensitive keys; AI provider credentials were exposed.¹
  • Package vulnerability AIKIDO-2026-557857The 'braintrust' package is flagged by Aikido Intel as vulnerable to an insertion flaw.⁸

What users say

Independent reviews of this specific product are sparse, and much online 'Braintrust' feedback actually targets a similarly named recruiting marketplace, so sentiment is murky.

Alternatives

Compare Braintrust with each alternative.

  • Langfuse

    Open-source alternative; self-host to keep keys and data in-house.

  • Arize

    LLM eval and observability platform positioned against Braintrust.

  • PostHog

    Product analytics suite that also covers LLM observability.

    Braintrust vs PostHog

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on 18+ public sources. Reviews of the similarly named recruiting marketplace (usebraintrust.com) were excluded as a different company; user reviews specific to this product were thin.

Well-funded evals+tracing platform used by Notion and Stripe — but a 2026 breach exposed customer API keys.

Methodology

Based on 18+ public sources. Reviews of the similarly named recruiting marketplace (usebraintrust.com) were excluded as a different company; user reviews specific to this product were thin.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. security
  2. security
  3. Braintrust Pricingbraintrust.dev
    official
  4. review
  5. news
  6. official
  7. official
  8. security

Add this review to your site

This check for Braintrust says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.