shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Cakedesk?

Win more clients and get paid faster using Cakedesk, the simple invoicing app for freelancers. - cakedesk.app

Worth it. Buy if you're a solo freelancer who wants simple desktop invoicing with a one-time €69 fee and no subscription. Skip it if you need team collaboration, time tracking, payment collection, or cloud/mobile access.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 11 public sources; no verbatim user reviews or ratings found.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

€0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Lifetime€69 one-time (was €99)

Best for

  • Solo freelancers
  • EU freelancers needing VAT and multi-language invoices
  • One-time-purchase buyers allergic to subscriptions
  • Desktop-first Windows/Mac users

Not for

  • Agencies or teams needing multi-user collaboration
  • Anyone needing time tracking or billable timers
  • Users who want cloud or mobile access anywhere
  • Businesses needing online payment collection or full accounting

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Free tier hard-caps at 3 clients, 3 quotes, 3 invoices — then €69 required

medium

Desktop app keeps data local; migrating to a cloud tool later is manual

medium

No security page: data practices and update policy unpublished

low

€69 is a promo price, down from €99; expect it to rise

Pros and cons

Pros

  • One-time €69 payment, no subscription
  • Free for first 3 clients, quotes, and invoices
  • Multi-language support and automated VAT calculations
  • 7 professional designs, customizable with HTML
  • No sign-up needed; Windows and Mac desktop app

Cons

  • Desktop-only: no web or mobile access
  • No online payment collection; rivals like Ruul offer it
  • No published security page
  • Indie solo-developer product; support depth and longevity unknown

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x6security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • €0

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. One-time €69 beats recurring SaaS fees
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviewers repeatedly call it simple, fast, minimal
  • Feature depth: 2/5. Invoices and proposals only; no time tracking or payments
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 2/5. No security page; no disclosed issues either
  • €69 one-time Starting price Discounted from €99
  • Yes Free tier First 3 clients / quotes / invoices
  • 2022 Launched Maker's intro post, July 2022

Pricing

Free

€0

  • First 3 clients
  • 3 quotes
  • 3 invoices

Lifetime

€69 one-time (was €99)

  • Unlimited clients, invoices, proposals
  • Pay once, no subscription

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Third-party roundups describe Cakedesk as simple and minimal, but no verbatim user reviews appear in the sources.

Companies that could

  • Double Your Freelancing⁹ Uses Harvest instead
Full analysis

Based on 11 public sources; no verbatim user reviews or ratings found.

Solid one-time €69 invoicing for solo freelancers; desktop-only, minimal features, no security page — teams look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on 11 public sources; no verbatim user reviews or ratings found.

Sources

  1. official
  2. security
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.