shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use CIT Bank Online | CDs | Savings | Home Loans?

High Yield Savings, Money Market, CDs and Custodial Accounts; Home Loans - cit.com

Depends. Good fit for savers who want high APYs, no monthly fees, and rarely need to contact support. Avoid it if you deposit cash, want a branch, or need reliable customer service.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 15 public sources; Citigroup breach articles found during review refer to Citigroup, a different bank than CIT Bank.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useOnly marketing claims; no hands-on evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo public findings either way in sources

Pricing

$100 minimum, no monthly fee

Platinum Savings

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Term CDsFrom $1,000
High Yield SavingsNo monthly fee

Best for

  • Set-and-forget savers chasing high APY
  • CD laddering with $1,000 minimums
  • Online-only banking users
  • Mortgage shoppers wanting a bank-backed lender

Not for

  • Anyone who needs to deposit cash
  • People who want branches or in-person help
  • Customers who might need fast phone support
  • Users wanting credit cards or auto loans

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Top 3.75% APY requires $5,000 balance — below that you earn just 0.25% APY.

high

Support complaints recur across accounts: long waits, difficulty reaching anyone.

medium

Long CDs pay poorly: 2–5 year terms earn only 0.40–0.50% APY.

medium

No cash deposits — all funding must be electronic.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Platinum Savings pays 3.75% APY with no monthly fee
  • One-year CD pays 4.00% APY with no fees
  • Savings, money market, CDs, custodial accounts, plus home loans
  • Up to $400 bonus with direct deposit
  • Home loans include conventional, FHA, and jumbo programs

Cons

  • Trustpilot score 2.5/5 from 12 reviews
  • 45 Trustpilot reviews: most reviewers let down overall
  • No cash deposit option
  • No credit cards or auto loans
  • Support complaints: long phone waits, hard to reach

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/04/2026 - 15 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x12security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $100 minimum, no monthly fee

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. No monthly fees; 3.75–4.00% APYs
  • Ease of use. Only marketing claims; no hands-on evidence
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Savings, CDs, mortgages; no credit cards
  • Support quality: 2/5. 2.5/5 Trustpilot; long phone waits reported
  • Security posture. No public findings either way in sources
  • 2.5/5 Trustpilot rating 12 reviews (bankoncit.com)
  • 3.75% Top savings APY Requires $5,000 balance
  • 4.00% 1-year CD APY Terms from 6 months to 5 years
  • $100 Minimum to open Platinum Savings; CDs start at $1,000

Pricing

Platinum Savings

$100 minimum, no monthly fee

  • 3.75% APY with $5,000 balance
  • 0.25% APY under $5,000

Term CDs

From $1,000

  • 6-month to 5-year terms
  • 4.00% APY on 1-year
  • No fees

High Yield Savings

No monthly fee

  • 3.75% APY
  • Up to $400 direct-deposit bonus

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Rates get some praise, but reviews skew negative — Trustpilot 2.5/5 with recurring complaints about unreachable customer service.

“This bank has incredibly unreliable customer service and has currently left me stranded without a line to my income while on vacation for the last 3 days.”
BBB complaint, CIT Bank
“Considering 45 reviews, most reviewers were let down by their experience overall.”
Trustpilot, cit.com
“They have a high yield savings of 5%. Does anyone use it? Is it legit?”
Reddit, r/HighYieldSavings

Alternatives

Compare CIT Bank Online | CDs | Savings | Home Loans with each alternative.

  • Ally Bank

    Guess: online bank known for 24/7 phone support and no minimums.

  • Marcus by Goldman Sachs

    Guess: no-fee high-yield savings from a big-name backer.

  • Capital One 360

    Guess: online rates plus physical branches for in-person banking.

  • Local credit union

    Guess: in-person service and cash deposits, often lower rates.

Full analysis

Based on 15 public sources; Citigroup breach articles found during review refer to Citigroup, a different bank than CIT Bank.

Strong 3.75–4.00% APY and no monthly fees, but support reviews are poor — fine for hands-off savers.

Methodology

Based on 15 public sources; Citigroup breach articles found during review refer to Citigroup, a different bank than CIT Bank.

Sources

  1. official
  2. security
  3. review
  4. review
  5. CIT Bank Platinum Savings Review 2026investingandretirement.com
    review
  6. Savings - Match - APYcompareaccounts.com
    review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. CIT Bank Reviewbiblemoneymatters.com
    review
  15. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.