shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Clearly Payments?

Award-winning credit card processor with low-cost payment processing and top service for merchants. - clearlypayments.com

Depends. Buy if you process real monthly card volume and want interchange-plus pricing instead of flat-rate; the savings math only favors higher-volume merchants. New or tiny sellers should skip it and start with Stripe or Square — no underwriting, no sales calls.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; most product claims come from Clearly Payments' own blog and pricing pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly self-reported service claims found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Custom quote

Cost-plus (interchange-plus)

ModelCost-plus
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Established merchants with steady card volume
  • Retailers tired of flat-rate fees
  • Businesses wanting gross/net funding choice
  • Mid-size merchants replacing legacy processors

Not for

  • New businesses — underwriting and hold risk will slow you down; just use Stripe
  • Side hustles and solo sellers — flat-rate aggregators are simpler to start
  • Very low-volume merchants — interchange-plus savings won't cover account overhead
  • Anyone wanting instant, published pricing without a sales call

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Cost-plus savings vs 2.6%–2.9% flat-rate mainly appear at higher volume; low-volume merchants may lose money

medium

No rates visible in sources; pricing is custom-quoted — demand a full fee schedule before signing

medium

Expect underwriting and possible fund holds or credit review early on

medium

PCI DSS 4.0 obligations may carry extra fees; ask exactly what's bundled

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Interchange-plus (cost-plus) pricing aimed at undercutting flat-rate rivals charging 2.6%–2.9% + $0.30
  • Published case study claims one retailer saved $15,000 in fees
  • Lets merchants choose gross or net funding for cash-flow control
  • Publishes a security page plus PCI DSS 4.0 and fraud guidance
  • Independently reviewed by in April 2024

Cons

  • Requires merchant-account underwriting and approval; no instant sign-up like aggregators
  • Merchant accounts risk holds and credit reviews that can freeze funds
  • Most published evidence is the company's own blog; independent reviews scarce
  • Savings claims come from company case studies, not audited data
  • PCI DSS 4.0 shifts compliance work onto the merchant

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x6review x2security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Cost-plus undercuts flat-rate; savings claims are self-published
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Merchant underwriting slower than aggregator sign-up
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Gateways, funding choice, alt payments; nothing standout shown
  • Support quality. Only self-reported service claims found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Security page and PCI guidance; no audits cited
  • Cost-plus Pricing model Rival flat-rate: 2.6%–2.9% + $0.30
  • $15,000 Claimed savings One retailer case study
  • CardRates.com Independent review Published April 2024

Pricing

Cost-plus (interchange-plus)

Not disclosed

  • Interchange plus fixed markup
  • Positions against flat-rate 2.6%–2.9% + $0.30
  • Volume-based savings claimed

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Independent user feedback is scarce; the third-party review found is CardRates.com's 2024 writeup.

Alternatives

Compare Clearly Payments with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • Smile Innovations
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; most product claims come from Clearly Payments' own blog and pricing pages.

Cost-plus processor for established, higher-volume merchants; new or tiny sellers should just use Stripe or Square.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; most product claims come from Clearly Payments' own blog and pricing pages.

Sources

  1. Clearly Payments homepageclearlypayments.com
    official
  2. Cost Plus Pricingclearlypayments.com
    official
  3. Product security pageclearlypayments.com
    security
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.