shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

ClearVin Review

Depends

Should I use ClearVin?

Vehicle history reports from an approved NMVTIS data provider. - clearvin.com

· 6 hours ago

Buy it as a cheap NMVTIS-backed VIN check (~$15–18/report) when Carfax's ~$44 feels steep for a one-off used-car purchase. Skip it if you need Carfax-recognized service records, or if auto-renew subscription billing bothers you.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~15 public sources; review base is small (~30 Trustpilot reviews) and the Carfax price comparison is the vendor's own.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security postureNo findings either way in sources

Pricing

From $14.99

Single report

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Dealer monthly plansCustom

Best for

  • Used-car buyers wanting a cheap Carfax alternative
  • Salvage and auction car shoppers
  • Independent dealers doing bulk VIN checks
  • Importers verifying US title brands

Not for

  • Buyers who need Carfax-recognized service records
  • Lenders or dealerships that require Carfax/AutoCheck reports
  • Anyone wanting free history — NHTSA/DMV lookups exist
  • Fleets needing deep maintenance histories

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Monthly plans auto-renew; cancellation only per terms and conditions

medium

Competitors advertise 'no auto-renew' against ClearVin's 'pricing trap' — watch card statements

low

Report prices vary widely by channel: $11 via resellers to $17.99 direct

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Approved NMVTIS data provider
  • Reports cost $17.99 vs Carfax's ~$44 (vendor's own comparison)
  • Offers an API so dealers and importers can run VIN checks in-house
  • Covers title brands, odometer, emissions info, and market values
  • Integrated with the AutoBidMaster auction platform

Cons

  • Buyers report ClearVin and Carfax telling different stories on the same car
  • Only ~30 Trustpilot reviews — thin track record
  • Tiny 1–10 person team with no outside funding
  • Competitors openly market against its 'pricing trap'

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x5security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • From $14.99

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. $15–18 reports vs Carfax's ~$44
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Instant pay-per-VIN reports
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Title, auction, emissions data; thinner than Carfax
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture. No findings either way in sources
  • $14.99 Starting price per report; $17.99 vs Carfax's ~$44
  • ~30 Trustpilot reviews small review base
  • 1–10 Team size employees, per Prospeo
  • None raised Funding bootstrapped, per Tracxn

Pricing

Single report

From $14.99

  • Title brands, odometer, accident and auction data
  • Vehicle market value
  • Emissions inspection info

Dealer monthly plans

Not disclosed

  • Bulk VIN reports
  • API access
  • Positioned against Carfax and EpicVin pricing

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sparse reviews: buyers like the low price, but some report ClearVin and Carfax giving different accounts of the same vehicle.

“Carfax and Clearvin tell me different stories about the car I”
Reddit, r/askcarsales

Companies that use it

  • AutoBidMaster
  • CarFast Express

Companies that could

  • Jeff Wyler Acura Fairfield Uses Carfax instead
Full analysis

Based on ~15 public sources; review base is small (~30 Trustpilot reviews) and the Carfax price comparison is the vendor's own.

Cheap NMVTIS-based VIN reports (~$15–18) vs Carfax's $44; fine for a one-off check, but thin review base and auto-renew complaints.

Methodology

Based on ~15 public sources; review base is small (~30 Trustpilot reviews) and the Carfax price comparison is the vendor's own.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.