shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use CleverFiles (Disk Drill)?

Disk Drill: The best data recovery software for macOS. Recover deleted or lost data from any storage device, iOS and Android. Free scanning. - cleverfiles.com

Depends. Buy only if the free scan actually locates your lost files — then the license pays for itself once. Skip it if free tools like PhotoRec can do the job, or if the drive is physically dead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~12 public sources. Product-site reviews are self-curated; strongest independent evidence is a 2017 PCMag review and Trustpilot user reports.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found.
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Pro$89 (2017 MSRP)

Best for

  • Mac users who deleted files by accident
  • Damaged external drive recovery attempts
  • iOS/Android photo and message recovery
  • People who scan free before paying

Not for

  • Physically dead drives — software can't fix hardware; use a recovery lab
  • Anyone comfortable with free PhotoRec/TestDisk
  • Businesses needing SLA-backed or certified enterprise recovery services
  • Buyers who won't test with the free scan before paying

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Free scan is the hook; recovering beyond ~500MB means paying before files are actually restored.

medium

Installer drew PUP suspicions from a forum user; download only from the official site.

low

No public security page or disclosure policy found.

low

The $89 price is 2017 MSRP; verify current cost at checkout.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • User recovered 500GB from a damaged external drive.
  • PCMag called it one of the most advanced Mac recovery utilities (2017).
  • Free scan verifies recoverable files before you pay.
  • Independent malware checks report clean, no malicious code.
  • Established since 2009 with 10M+ installs.

Cons

  • Full recovery requires paid license; free tier roughly 500MB.
  • No public security page at
  • One forum user flagged possible PUP behavior.
  • On-site reviews are self-curated, not independent.
  • Most recent independent expert review found is from 2017.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 7 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x3security x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 7

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Free scan helps; pay only if recovery succeeds.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. User recovered 500GB without expert help.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. PCMag called it among most advanced Mac utilities.
  • Support quality. No support evidence found.
  • Security posture: 3/5. Clean independent scans; no public security page.
  • 2009 Founded Per official About page
  • 10M+ Installations Lifetime, per CleverFiles
  • 500K+ Customers Per CleverFiles
  • $89 PCMag MSRP 2017 Pro license; current price may differ

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Free scanning
  • ~500MB free recovery (user-reported)

Pro

$89 (2017 MSRP)

  • Full recovery beyond free limit
  • iOS/Android recovery claimed

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users report successful recoveries from damaged drives, though one forum user voiced PUP suspicions.

“CleverFiles allowed me to recover over 500gb of data from a damaged external drive. Without the software I couldn't even see the file structure.”
Trustpilot reviewer
“Seems to be a PUP”
TidBITS Talk forum
“RARELY DO I GO OUT OF MY WAY TO WRITE A REVIEW BUT THIS PRODUCT IS A GENUINE”
CleverFiles own reviews page (self-curated)
Full analysis

Based on ~12 public sources. Product-site reviews are self-curated; strongest independent evidence is a 2017 PCMag review and Trustpilot user reports.

Solid Mac recovery utility. Scan free first; pay only if it finds your files. Free PhotoRec handles many cases.

Methodology

Based on ~12 public sources. Product-site reviews are self-curated; strongest independent evidence is a 2017 PCMag review and Trustpilot user reports.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. security
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.