shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use CloudMounter - Cloud Storage Manager?

Connect to Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, Amazon S3, and other cloud services from Finder via CloudMounter - a handy tool for cloud data management. - cloudmounter.net

Depends. Buy if you're an individual who wants Dropbox, Drive, OneDrive, or S3 mounted as Finder/Explorer drives and the files aren't mission-critical. Don't buy if you need guaranteed data integrity or strong vendor accountability — a 2024 data-loss report and 'scam' complaints exist.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 12 public sources. Review samples are small (G2 n=7, Trustpilot n=28); Macworld review dates to 2016.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo security page; no incidents found

Pricing

$29.00–$249.00

macOS

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Windows$29.99–$99.99

Best for

  • Mac users juggling multiple cloud accounts
  • Quick S3/SFTP access without terminal
  • Light, non-critical file transfers

Not for

  • Anyone treating cloud files as critical — data-loss report exists
  • Teams wanting central admin or shared storage governance
  • Backup workflows — this mounts drives, it isn't backup
  • Security-conscious orgs: no vendor security page

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

A Reddit user reports files 'permanently lost' — don't rely on it as sole access to critical data.

medium

Trustpilot 'scam' complaints suggest licensing/refund disputes — read refund terms before paying.

medium

macOS pricing spans $29–$249; confirm which tier and license model you actually need.

low

No free tier advertised; only a 24-hour lifetime-license giveaway spotted on LowEndTalk.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Mounts Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, Amazon S3, and SFTP as local drives in Finder/Explorer.
  • Runs quietly in the background, per a 2025 hands-on review.
  • App Store reviewers call it 'a rock-solid piece of software.'
  • Capterra rates it 4.5/5 across 23 reviews.
  • Entry pricing starts at $29 (macOS), $29.99 (Windows).

Cons

  • Reddit report (Feb 2024) claims permanent personal file loss.
  • Trustpilot includes 1-star reviews calling it a 'scam.'
  • G2 rating 4.0 from only 7 reviews — tiny sample.
  • Macworld (2016) flagged occasional reliability and connectivity issues.
  • No security page found on vendor site.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x8security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $29.00–$249.00

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cheap entry price; refund complaints on Trustpilot
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Mounts as drives; 'runs quietly' per 2025 review
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Wide support: S3, SFTP, WebDAV, major clouds
  • Support quality: 2/5. 'Scam' complaints; unresolved data-loss report
  • Security posture. No security page; no incidents found
  • 4.8/5 Mac App Store rating 436 ratings
  • 4.5/5 Capterra rating 23 reviews
  • 4.0/5 Trustpilot rating 28 reviews
  • $29.00 Starting price macOS; $29.99–$99.99 on Windows

Pricing

macOS

$29.00–$249.00

  • Mount cloud and SFTP drives in Finder
  • Tiered by feature set

Windows

$29.99–$99.99

  • Mount cloud drives in File Explorer
  • Supports major cloud services

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Mac App Store ratings are strong (4.8 across 436 ratings), but Reddit and Trustpilot carry serious data-loss and refund complaints.

“this is a rock-solid piece of software. No network d…”
Apple App Store review
“Please do not use this garbage softwar…”
Reddit, r/cloudstorage
“CloudMounter puts all my files and folders f…”
Capterra review

Alternatives

Compare CloudMounter - Cloud Storage Manager with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 12 public sources. Review samples are small (G2 n=7, Trustpilot n=28); Macworld review dates to 2016.

Handy $29 cloud-drive mounter for individuals; skip for critical files after a 2024 data-loss report.

Methodology

Based on 12 public sources. Review samples are small (G2 n=7, Trustpilot n=28); Macworld review dates to 2016.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. security
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.