shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

COLDCARD Review

Skip

Should I use COLDCARD?

COLDCARD is a Bitcoin-only signer with no required companion app, compatible wallet software, multiple PSBT paths, and verifiable firmware. - coldcard.com

· 1 week ago

Nobody should buy a Coldcard today until Coinkite's post-hack fix has time to earn trust back — a 5-year-old RNG firmware flaw drained roughly $116M from users. Bitcoin-only maximalists who verify everything may return later; everyone else should buy Trezor or Ledger now.

Confidence

High. Based on ~60 public sources; core security facts corroborated across TRM Labs, Hacker News, CoinDesk, and vendor disclosures.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$239.99

COLDCARD Q

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Bitcoin-only holders wanting air-gapped signing
  • Multisig users (2-of-3 and larger)
  • Users who verify firmware themselves
  • Long-term BTC cold storage

Not for

  • Anyone buying right now — trust is not rebuilt
  • Altcoin holders (Bitcoin-only device)
  • Beginners who won't verify firmware or manage PSBTs
  • Large holdings — spread risk across vendors instead

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Verify your firmware version and device batch — deeper fix only shipped Aug 21, 2026

high

Affected units had recovery phrases recreated by attackers; confirm whether yours is exposed

medium

Legal recourse and insurance coverage for stolen funds remain unsettled

medium

Buy only from the official Coinkite store; community threads debate gray-market sellers

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Bitcoin-only signer; no companion app required
  • Verifiable firmware and multiple PSBT signing paths
  • Air-gapped operation with QR scanning on Q model
  • Mature multisig workflows, e.g. 2-of-3 setups
  • Historically top-rated: Mk5 8/10, Mk4 9/10

Cons

  • $116M stolen via 5-year-old RNG firmware flaw
  • Largest hardware wallet exploit of 2026, per TRM Labs
  • Third separate hack reported after initial disclosure
  • Bitcoin-only: no altcoin support
  • Victims weighing legal recovery; brand trust damaged

Sources & method

- 12 sources - Compromised: a 5-year RNG firmware flaw led to ~$116M stolen in 2026; a deeper fix shipped Aug 21, 2026. Verify before trusting.

official x4review x3security x2news x3
  • RNG firmware flaw (5 years), A firmware weakness dating back years let attackers recreate private keys and drain roughly $116M in Bitcoin — the largest hardware wallet exploit of 2026.
  • Recovery-phrase recreation, Attackers used the bug to recreate recovery phrases on affected devices and drain 594 BTC in one reported wave.
  • Additional exploit reports, Community reports describe a third hack wave with further losses; treat all details as unconfirmed until vendor disclosures catch up.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $239.99

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Premium price; core security promise recently failed
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Guess: no companion app helps, but air-gapped flow is technical
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Multisig, QR scanning, PSBT paths, verifiable firmware
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 1/5. $116M drained via 5-year RNG flaw
  • $239.99 Coldcard Q price Coinkite store, 2026
  • 8/10 Mk5 review score bitcoin.diy, May 2026
  • $116M Reported user losses TRM Labs, Aug 2026
  • 5 years Flaw age before fix RNG firmware bug

Pricing

COLDCARD Q

$239.99

  • QR scanner, full-featured flagship
  • Bitcoin-only, air-gapped signer

Security

Compromised: a 5-year RNG firmware flaw led to ~$116M stolen in 2026; a deeper fix shipped Aug 21, 2026.

  • RNG firmware flaw (5 years)A firmware weakness dating back years let attackers recreate private keys and drain roughly $116M in Bitcoin — the largest hardware wallet exploit of 2026.¹
  • Recovery-phrase recreationAttackers used the bug to recreate recovery phrases on affected devices and drain 594 BTC in one reported wave.

Verify before trusting.

  • Additional exploit reportsCommunity reports describe a third hack wave with further losses; treat all details as unconfirmed until vendor disclosures catch up.

What users say

Long a favorite among Bitcoin maximalists, but post-hack threads show shaken trust and affected users seeking recourse.

“I lost my one Bitcoin in the Coldcard exploit.”
Reddit, r/Bitcoin
“Are you still using a ColdCard”
Reddit, r/coldcard
“Why is this the best wallet?”
Reddit, r/coldcard

Alternatives

Compare COLDCARD with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on ~60 public sources; core security facts corroborated across TRM Labs, Hacker News, CoinDesk, and vendor disclosures.

$240 Bitcoin-only signer, but a 5-year RNG flaw drained $116M in 2026 — don't buy until trust is rebuilt.

Methodology

Based on ~60 public sources; core security facts corroborated across TRM Labs, Hacker News, CoinDesk, and vendor disclosures.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. security
  2. security
  3. news
  4. news
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. official
  9. official
  10. review
  11. news
  12. official

Cite this review

This check for COLDCARD says Skip.

Put the badge on a page that cites the review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.