shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use CommonLit | A Full ELA Program?

Explore a comprehensive literacy program that offers a full-year ELA curriculum, benchmark assessments, professional development, and more. - commonlit.org

Depends. Buy the paid packages only if you're a school or district adopting a full-year, standards-aligned ELA curriculum with benchmarks and PD. Individual teachers should stick to the free 360 curriculum and library; homeschoolers and K-2 need a different tool.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources; most review content is official testimonials or SEO-duplicated text, with one independent educator review.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo third-party support evidence found
  • Security postureNo security findings either way in sources

Pricing

$0

Free (CommonLit 360 + library)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
School paid packagesQuote-based (not published)

Best for

  • Districts adopting full-year ELA curriculum
  • Schools wanting benchmarks plus PD
  • Admins needing school-wide literacy data
  • Teachers grabbing free 3-12 passages

Not for

  • Homeschoolers — classroom roster model fits poorly
  • K-2 teachers — content starts at grade 3
  • Parents seeking phonics or early-reading instruction
  • Anyone wanting published pricing before a sales call

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Paid package prices aren't public; expect quote-based school contracts

medium

Free tier covers library and 360 curriculum; assessments and PD cost extra

low

Full-curriculum adoption creates switching costs; pilot one grade first

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Full-year ELA curriculum with benchmark assessments and professional development
  • CommonLit 360 curriculum and library are permanently free
  • Independently reviewed by EdReports for grades 6-8
  • School-wide data reports help admins target struggling readers
  • Educators report better lesson planning and data collection

Cons

  • Independent reviewer remains 'on the fence' after classroom use
  • Reported light usage in one 3rd-grade classroom
  • No phonics or early-reading content; grades 3-12 only
  • Benchmarks and PD sit behind paid school packages

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x3security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Core curriculum free; paid targets school budgets
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Teachers report easier planning and data collection
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Curriculum, benchmarks, PD, admin data included
  • Support quality. No third-party support evidence found
  • Security posture. No security findings either way in sources
  • 3-12 Grades covered Per teacher community listings
  • Yes Free tier CommonLit 360 curriculum 'will always be free'
  • EdReports Curriculum review CommonLit 360 grades 6-8, May 2024
  • Quote-based Paid packages School pricing not published

Pricing

Free (CommonLit 360 + library)

$0

  • Full-year ELA curriculum, always free
  • Free reading library, grades 3-12

School paid packages

Quote-based (not published)

  • Benchmark assessments
  • Professional development
  • School-wide data reports

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Genuine user voices are scarce; the main independent review is mixed while available testimonials praise planning and data gains.

“CommonLit already aligns to the standard. By far, my lesson planning and data collection has been so much better”
Educator testimonial, commonlit.org
“I'm still on the fence about Common Lit. I see upsides, and I've experienced downsides, but”
Lindsay Ann Learning, independent review
“review the texts and continue to assign since it's only been used twice”
Facebook, Reading Strategies teacher group
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; most review content is official testimonials or SEO-duplicated text, with one independent educator review.

Genuinely free full-year ELA curriculum for grades 3-12; paid extras target schools. Solo teachers: free is plenty.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; most review content is official testimonials or SEO-duplicated text, with one independent educator review.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. news
  8. security
  9. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.