shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Costco Review

Depends

Should I use Costco?

Membership warehouse club selling bulk groceries, electronics and general merchandise - costco.com.au

· 1 day ago

Worth the membership if you buy weekly for a large household or business and can store bulk packs. Skip it if you shop small or occasionally — the annual fee won't pay for itself.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources. Snippets were truncated and mostly US-focused despite the Australian site.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Annual membership

Yearly fee required (varies by country)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Large families buying weekly staples
  • Small businesses stocking up
  • Deal hunters with storage space
  • Volume buyers of household staples

Not for

  • Singles and couples — bulk packs expire before you finish them
  • Occasional shoppers — the fee won't pay for itself
  • Anyone without pantry or freezer space
  • People wanting quick top-up shops

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

2021 card-skimming attack confirmed; monitor your statements

medium

Membership fee paid upfront; recouping it takes volume, especially for small households

medium

Most prices aren't listed online; you must visit the warehouse to verify deals

medium

Photo Center cybersecurity incident reported April 2026

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Buying in bulk delivers strong per-unit savings
  • Ranked among warehouse clubs in 2026 side-by-side price comparison
  • Services beyond groceries: auto buying, travel, fuel
  • Pays employees decently, supporting service consistency

Cons

  • Annual membership fee required before you can shop
  • Crowds and long lines are top shopper complaints
  • Confirmed 2021 payment-card skimming hit customers
  • Accused of sharing customer health data with Meta
  • Value only shows up at high purchase volumes

Sources & method

- 11 sources - Confirmed 2021 payment-card skimming; 2026 Photo Center incident reported; health-data sharing alleged.

official x1review x6security x4
  • Payment card skimming (2021), Costco confirmed a card-skimming attack; customers reported fraudulent charges on payment cards.
  • Photo Center incident (2026), Costco Photo Center cybersecurity incident listed in a public incident tracker, April 2026.
  • Health data sharing allegation, Costco accused of sharing customers' health data with Meta; an allegation, not a confirmed breach.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Yearly fee required (varies by country)

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Bulk deals praised; savings need volume
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Crowds and long lines are frequent complaints
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Groceries plus travel, auto, pharmacy extras
  • Support quality: 3/5. Mixed service reviews across Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs
  • Security posture: 2/5. Confirmed 2021 skimming; 2026 photo incident
  • 1983 Founded First warehouse in Seattle
  • Yes Membership required No free shopping tier
  • 2021 Payment incident Confirmed card skimming

Pricing

Annual membership

Yearly fee required (varies by country)

  • Warehouse and online access
  • Fuel, travel and auto-buying services

Security

Confirmed 2021 payment-card skimming; 2026 Photo Center incident reported; health-data sharing alleged.

  • Payment card skimming (2021)Costco confirmed a card-skimming attack; customers reported fraudulent charges on payment cards.⁶
  • Photo Center incident (2026)Costco Photo Center cybersecurity incident listed in a public incident tracker, April 2026.⁸
  • Health data sharing allegationCostco accused of sharing customers' health data with Meta; an allegation, not a confirmed breach.⁹
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources. Snippets were truncated and mostly US-focused despite the Australian site.

Bulk-buy paradise with a membership fee — great for big households and small businesses, wasteful for singles and occasional shoppers.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources. Snippets were truncated and mostly US-focused despite the Australian site.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.