shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

CQC (Care Quality Commission) Review

Skip

Should I use CQC (Care Quality Commission)?

Skip to main content - cqc.org.uk

· 2 days ago

Care Quality Commission is the regulator of health and social care in England, not a product anyone buys. Care providers in England must register and pay fees by law, everyone else has no use for it.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20 public sources. CQC is a government regulator, not a product, so normal fit checks do not apply.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depthNot applicable, this is a regulator
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

£1,522 (2026)

Registration (new provider)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees£1,522
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Annual feesBanded by service

Best for

  • Care homes in England
  • Domiciliary homecare agencies
  • GP practices
  • Hospitals and clinics in England

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for software, this is a regulator
  • Care providers outside England
  • Small teams wanting a simple compliance tool
  • Non-care businesses, it does not apply to you

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Real registration cost exceeds the headline fee once consultants and prep work are added

medium

Fees use bands by service type and size, confirm your band before budgeting

medium

Inspection ratings age, old reports can lag current performance

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Publishes public inspection ratings for care services in England
  • Ratings help families compare care providers before choosing
  • Sets one national standard across hospitals, GPs, and care homes

Cons

  • Registration and annual fees are mandatory for English care providers
  • 2026 registration fee reaches £1,522 before ongoing annual fees
  • Critics report worsening homecare regulation and growing backlogs
  • Trustpilot reviewers report sending hundreds of concerns
  • Press reports say the regulator is under fire for failing

Sources & method

- 10 sources - Regulator publishes security guidance and a product security page, but its own 2016 data breach triggered an independent review.

official x3review x2security x1news x4
  • Data security breach review (2016), CQC published an independent review into a data security breach on 28 July 2016.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • £1,522 (2026)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Mandatory fees with no provider choice
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Providers need guides and consultants to register
  • Feature depth. Not applicable, this is a regulator
  • Support quality: 2/5. Backlog and unanswered concern reports dominate reviews
  • Security posture: 2/5. Own 2016 breach triggered an independent review
  • Regulator What it is Independent regulator of health and care in England
  • £1,522 2026 registration fee Headline fee, before extra costs
  • Yes Annual fees Banded by service type and size
  • No Free tier Registration is a legal duty, not a plan

Pricing

Registration (new provider)

£1,522 (2026)

  • Headline one-off fee
  • Varies by location and service type

Annual fees

Banded by service

  • Set by service type and size
  • Covers CQC regulatory costs

Security

Regulator publishes security guidance and a product security page, but its own 2016 data breach triggered an independent review.

  • Data security breach review (2016)CQC published an independent review into a data security breach on 28 July 2016.⁷

What users say

feedback skews negative, with Trustpilot complaints about unanswered concerns and sector reports of regulatory backlogs.

“I have sent literally 100s of conce”
Trustpilot reviewer (excerpt)

Alternatives

Compare CQC (Care Quality Commission) with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 20 public sources. CQC is a government regulator, not a product, so normal fit checks do not apply.

Not software. CQC is England's care regulator. Care providers must register and pay fees. Everyone else has no use for it.

Methodology

Based on 20 public sources. CQC is a government regulator, not a product, so normal fit checks do not apply.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Feescqc.org.uk
    official
  3. official
  4. news
  5. news
  6. review
  7. security
  8. news
  9. news
  10. review

Cite this review

This check for CQC (Care Quality Commission) says Skip.

Put the badge on a page that cites the review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.