shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Cryptomator?

πŸŽƒ Halloween Sale: 33%* Off Cryptomator – Until October 31! [Learn More β†’](/blog/2026/10/01/halloween-sale-2026/) - cryptomator.org

Worth it. Buy if you want free, open-source encryption for files you upload to cloud storage β€” ideal for individuals and privacy-minded users. Skip it if you want zero-setup encrypted storage, vendor support SLAs, or might forget your passphrase.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: official docs, G2/Cloudwards reviews, Reddit threads, and CVE databases.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Desktop app

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Mobile apps~$13.99 one-time
Hub / EnterprisePaid subscription (see site)

Best for

  • Encrypting files before cloud upload
  • Privacy-conscious individuals
  • Researchers handling sensitive data
  • Small teams via Cryptomator Hub

Not for

  • Zero-setup buyers β€” pick zero-knowledge cloud storage instead
  • Full-disk encryption needs β€” use VeraCrypt
  • Guess: Anyone who may forget vault passwords β€” no recovery
  • CLI power users β€” rclone crypt does it free

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Hub vault-unlock bug forced an urgent update in March 2026 β€” keep Hub patched

medium

Guess: Support is community-forum based; no guaranteed response times

low

Android app costs ~$13.99; iOS app is a separate purchase β€” budget both platforms

low

Donation key is a separate paid item; free-vs-paid split confuses new users

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free, open-source desktop encryption; vendor can't read your cloud files
  • Works with any cloud provider; files encrypted before upload
  • Cross-platform: Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android
  • Recommended by Privacy Guides alongside VeraCrypt
  • Reddit users report smooth first experiences and daily reliability

Cons

  • Mobile apps cost extra (~$13.99 one-time); only desktop is free
  • Guess: No passphrase recovery β€” lose it, lose your data
  • Multiple 2026 CVEs, including Android and desktop auth-bypass bugs
  • Team key management (Hub) requires a paid subscription

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 12 sources - Open-source, zero-knowledge architecture; multiple 2026 CVEs including auth bypass β€” update promptly.

official x3review x5security x2news x2
  • CVE-2026-32303, Cryptomator auth bypass vulnerability, published March 2026.
  • CVE-2026-32317, Cryptomator for Android auth bypass vulnerability.
  • Hub Vault Unlock Vulnerability, Official advisory: update required to fix Hub vault unlock issue (March 2026).
  • CVE-2026-29110, Cryptomator vulnerability tracked in NVD, March 2026.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Core product free; paid pieces one-time
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users praise simple setup, daily flow
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Multi-cloud, mobile apps, Hub for teams
  • Support quality: 3/5. Active community forum; no paid SLA
  • Security posture: 3/5. Zero-knowledge, open-source; several 2026 CVEs
  • Free Starting price Desktop; mobile ~$13.99 one-time
  • Yes Free tier Open-source desktop app
  • 10 years Age Launched 2016
  • $767.7K Funding Per Crunchbase profile

Pricing

Desktop app

Free

  • Open-source, unlimited vaults
  • Windows, macOS, Linux

Mobile apps

~$13.99 one-time

  • Android app via Play Store
  • iOS app sold separately
  • Halloween sale: 33% off until Oct 31

Hub / Enterprise

Paid subscription (see site)

  • Central key management
  • Shared team vaults
  • SaaS or managed deployment

Security

Open-source, zero-knowledge architecture; multiple 2026 CVEs including auth bypass β€” update promptly.

  • CVE-2026-32303Cryptomator auth bypass vulnerability, published March 2026.⁸
  • CVE-2026-32317Cryptomator for Android auth bypass vulnerability.
  • Hub Vault Unlock VulnerabilityOfficial advisory: update required to fix Hub vault unlock issue (March 2026).⁹
  • CVE-2026-29110Cryptomator vulnerability tracked in NVD, March 2026.

What users say

Users broadly love it β€” simple, reliable client-side encryption praised consistently across Reddit and G2 reviews.

β€œFirst time user, and loving it so far”
Reddit, r/Cryptomator
β€œTried Cryptomator, it's amazing!”
Reddit, r/privacy
β€œCryptomator is fantastic”
Reddit, r/Cryptomator

Alternatives

Compare Cryptomator with each alternative.

  • VeraCrypt

    Free full-disk and container encryption; heavier but battle-tested

  • rclone (crypt remote)

    Free CLI cloud encryption; steeper learning curve

  • Tresorit

    Zero-knowledge cloud storage with encryption built in

  • Picocrypt

    Lightweight single-file encryption tool

Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: official docs, G2/Cloudwards reviews, Reddit threads, and CVE databases.

Free open-source vault encryption for cloud files. Excellent for individuals; mobile, teams, and support cost extra.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: official docs, G2/Cloudwards reviews, Reddit threads, and CVE databases.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Cryptomator Pricingcryptomator.org
    official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. news
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.