shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Cypress?

Simplify front-end testing with Cypress' open-source app. Explore our versatile testing frameworks for browser-based applications and components. - cypress.io

Worth it. Buy if you're a JavaScript team that needs free, well-documented E2E and component testing for web apps. Skip it if you want codeless testing, Safari/WebKit coverage, or a unit-test tool.

Confidence

High. Based on 20+ public sources; ratings from G2 and Capterra, pricing from official page and third-party comparisons.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security postureOnly a public security page found; no incidents

Pricing

Free

Open Source

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Cypress CloudReportedly from ~$75/mo

Best for

  • JavaScript teams doing E2E web testing
  • Frontend component testing
  • Small teams wanting free tooling
  • Debug-heavy UI work with live preview

Not for

  • Non-coders wanting record-and-playback QA
  • Teams needing Safari/WebKit coverage (Guess: Playwright fits better)
  • Projects that mostly need unit tests
  • Native mobile app testing

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Open source is free, but Cloud for parallelizing across multiple machines gets expensive

medium

Paid plans reportedly start around $75/month; verify current tiers before budgeting

medium

Migrating suites to Playwright or others later means rewriting tests

medium

Scale features (dashboards, parallel runs) sit behind paid Cloud, not the free runner

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free, open-source runner with no licensing costs
  • Praised for ease of use and excellent documentation
  • 4.7/5 across 108 verified G2 reviews
  • Fast tests and live preview speed up debugging
  • Some teams found rollout easier than Playwright

Cons

  • Deep .then() chains become unreadable over time
  • Cypress tasks are a pain to troubleshoot
  • Some users find Playwright easier and better
  • You still must write the tests yourself

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x7security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free core; Cloud parallelization costs add up
  • Ease of use: 5/5. Users consistently praise ease of use and docs
  • Feature depth: 4/5. E2E plus component testing; some E2E limits noted
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security posture. Only a public security page found; no incidents
  • 4.7/5 G2 rating 108 verified reviews
  • 4.7/5 Capterra rating 67 reviews
  • $0 Starting price Open-source runner, no licensing costs
  • Yes Free tier Paid Cloud tier for scale

Pricing

Open Source

Free

  • Write, run, debug tests locally
  • No licensing costs
  • Browser and component testing

Cypress Cloud

Reportedly from ~$75/mo

  • Parallel test runs across machines
  • Reporting dashboards at scale

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Developers love the developer experience, docs, and live preview but gripe about troubleshooting Cypress tasks and paid parallelization.

“Users consistently praise the ease of use and excellent documentation of Cypress, making it accessible for both beginners and experienced developers.”
G2 reviews
“I love when I can make my change in one monitor and instantly see how it looks and if the test passes or fails in the other.”
Reddit, r/webdev
“Cypress tasks are a pain to troubleshoot, They are mostly used for creating test setups.”
Reddit, r/javascript
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; ratings from G2 and Capterra, pricing from official page and third-party comparisons.

Free, well-loved JS E2E test runner. Buy for web teams; skip for codeless QA, Safari coverage, or unit-only needs.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; ratings from G2 and Capterra, pricing from official page and third-party comparisons.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.