shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use DeepMotion?

AI Motion Capture & Body Tracking - deepmotion.com

Depends. Worth testing if you're an indie creator or hobbyist animator turning short video clips into 3D motion — start on the free tier. Skip it if you need production-grade mocap quality or predictable pricing.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; exact paid tier prices were not published in the sources reviewed.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

SayMotion Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Animate 3D paid plansNot listed in sources

Best for

  • Indie game animators
  • Solo creators without mocap suits
  • Short-loop animation for social/VTubers
  • Educators teaching 3D animation basics

Not for

  • Studios needing film-grade mocap — go or Rokoko
  • Anyone animating long clips on a budget
  • Productions needing hand capture without paying extra
  • Buyers wanting clean output with no manual cleanup

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Per-second metering: long clips get expensive fast

medium

Hands aren't included — a 10-second clip with hands costs extra

medium

Animate 3D and SayMotion have separate pricing pages — confirm which you're buying

medium

Output quality depends heavily on input video; follow capture guidelines closely

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Turns ordinary video into 3D animation without suits or hardware
  • SayMotion generates 3D animation from text prompts
  • Freemium SayMotion tier, no credit card required
  • Proven real-time tracking — powered Samsung Galaxy AR Emoji

Cons

  • Some gamedevs flatly call the output awful
  • Billing meters animation by the second
  • Hand tracking is a paid add-on, not included
  • Seed-stage vendor, ~$1.4M ARR — longevity risk

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x3security x2news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Per-second billing; hands cost extra
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Browser-based, but devs report poor results
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Video-to-mocap, text-to-motion, hand tracking
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Security page published; no known incidents
  • Yes Free tier SayMotion, no credit card required
  • $2.2M Funding raised 2019 round; Bandai Namco invested 2023
  • $1.4M ARR (2021) GetLatka estimate — small vendor
  • Samsung Notable partner Powered Galaxy S10 AR Emoji (2019)

Pricing

SayMotion Free

$0

  • Text-to-motion generation
  • No credit card required

Animate 3D paid plans

Not listed in sources

  • Metered per animation second
  • Hands cost extra

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sentiment is split: some praise the AI mocap concept, while gamedev reviewers report poor output quality and costly metering.

“Tried to Use deepmotion, it's awful.”
Reddit, r/gamedev

Alternatives

Compare DeepMotion with each alternative.

  • QuickMagic

    Rival AI mocap; comparisons argue it handles hands better

    DeepMotion vs QuickMagic
  • Move.ai

    Markerless mocap aimed at higher-end productions

  • Rokoko

    Affordable suit-based mocap for serious creators

  • Meshy

    Top G2-listed AI alternative in this category

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; exact paid tier prices were not published in the sources reviewed.

Video-to-3D-animation AI: fine for quick indie clips on the free tier; per-second billing and mixed quality hurt pro use.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; exact paid tier prices were not published in the sources reviewed.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Pricing SayMotiondeepmotion.com
    official
  3. official
  4. Product security pagedeepmotion.com
    security
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. news
  11. news
  12. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.