shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Detroit Public Library?

Skip to main content - detroitpubliclibrary.org

Depends. This is not software you can buy — it is the website of a taxpayer-funded public library system. Detroit residents should absolutely use its free services; software buyers should stop here, because there is nothing to purchase.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 50+ public sources reviewed; subject is a public institution, not a purchasable software product.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence in sources.
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityPhone contact listed; service quality unverified.
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Library card

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Detroit residents and students
  • Free ebook and audiobook readers
  • Local history and genealogy researchers
  • Residents needing Wi-Fi or laptop loans

Not for

  • Software buyers — this is a public institution, not a vendor
  • Teams shopping for a library system (ILS) — this page is a customer, not the tool
  • Anyone comparing CRMs or contact tools — wrong category entirely
  • Non-Detroiters expecting full physical access

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Mark Twain branch closed in 1996 and never reopened; check branch status before visiting.

low

Nothing to buy or deploy; treating this as software is a category error.

low

Non-resident card eligibility has conditions; verify the policy before relying on access.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free membership for Detroit residents; non-residents may also qualify
  • 23 branches plus a large main library
  • Lends laptops and hotspots to bridge home internet gaps
  • Ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines via OverDrive
  • Frequent free author talks and community events

Cons

  • Not a product; no pricing, trials, or purchase path exists
  • Mixed employee reviews on Indeed (30 reviews)
  • Guess: SirsiDynix Enterprise catalog feels dated versus modern discovery layers
  • 2009 report alleged library money spent on city operations

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x4security x2news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free, publicly funded service.
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence in sources.
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Ebooks, events, makerspaces, laptop lending; standard library scope.
  • Support quality. Phone contact listed; service quality unverified.
  • Security posture: 4/5. Published security and privacy policies; firewall investment; no breaches found.
  • 23 Branch locations Per LinkedIn company profile
  • Free Cost to use Library card; non-residents may qualify
  • 500 hotspots Hotspot lending Plus 300 laptops, added Dec 2022
  • 30 Employer reviews Indeed employee reviews, mixed

Pricing

Library card

Free

  • Borrow books, ebooks, magazines
  • Laptop and hotspot lending
  • Detroit residents; non-residents may obtain per policy

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Visitors praise the main branch's architecture and programs, while 30 Indeed employee reviews skew mixed; source snippets were too truncated for verbatim quotes.

Full analysis

Based on 50+ public sources reviewed; subject is a public institution, not a purchasable software product.

Not software — Detroit's free public library. Nothing to buy; great for books, ebooks, events, hotspot lending.

Methodology

Based on 50+ public sources reviewed; subject is a public institution, not a purchasable software product.

Sources

  1. Detroit Public Library (homepage)detroitpubliclibrary.org
    official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. SirsiDynix Enterprise catalog searchdetroitpubliclibrary.org
    official
  5. news
  6. news
  7. security
  8. DPL security pagedetroitpubliclibrary.org
    security
  9. review
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.