shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Docker Review

Depends

Should I use Docker?

Docker is a platform designed to help developers build, share, and run container applications. We handle the tedious setup, so you can focus on the code. - docker.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if your team ships multiple services or needs reproducible dev environments — it's the category default. Skip if you run one simple app or are Linux-only; plain tooling or Podman is lighter.

Confidence

High. Based on 30+ public sources: G2, Gartner, Reddit, PCMag, Docker docs/pricing, and security trackers.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Personal

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Pro$9/month
TeamPer seat (raised Dec 2024)
BusinessReported $5,000–$7,000+/year

Best for

  • Teams shipping multi-service apps
  • CI/CD and microservices pipelines
  • Polyglot teams needing reproducible setups
  • Enterprises standardizing on containers

Not for

  • Solo devs with one simple app — needless overhead
  • Linux-only shops happy with Podman or native tooling
  • Non-technical founders wanting zero DevOps learning curve
  • Teams unwilling to patch Desktop against recurring CVEs

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Business/enterprise tier reportedly runs $5,000–$7,000+ per year

high

Critical Desktop flaws forced emergency patching; one enabled host compromise

medium

Docker Engine is free, but Docker Desktop requires a paid subscription for companies — licensing confusion is common

medium

Pro rose from $5 to $9/month; Team plan also increased in the Dec 2024 repricing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • De facto standard platform for building, sharing, running containers
  • 4.6/5 across 303 verified G2 reviews
  • Free licensing for personal use
  • Strong workload isolation, praised by self-hosters
  • Expanding suite: Sandboxes, AI governance, hardened images

Cons

  • Recurring critical Docker Desktop CVEs, some enabling host takeover
  • Users call it complicated for tasks hypervisors handle easily
  • Pro price doubled from $5 to $9/month in Dec 2024
  • Community-reported Docker Hub security incident in September 2024
  • Performance praised mainly on Linux; friction reported elsewhere

Sources & method

- 11 sources - Active findings: multiple critical Docker Desktop CVEs (2025–2026) and a 2024 Hub incident — patch promptly.

official x2review x3security x3news x3
  • CVE-2025-9074 — critical Docker Desktop vulnerability, Critical SSRF-like flaw in Docker Desktop enabling local compromise; fixed August 2025.
  • CVE-2026-17106 'CopyEscape', Imperva Red Team uncovered a container-to-host takeover flaw via docker cp.
  • CVE-2026-34040 — critical, Cyera researchers found a size-check flaw in Docker enabling host-level attacks; patch now.
  • Docker Hub security incident (Sept 2024), Community-discussed Docker Hub security incident on 2024.09.24; details shared in official forums.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Pro doubled to $9/mo; free personal tier remains
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Praised for learning; others call it complicated
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full build-share-run suite, plus AI tooling
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 2/5. Repeated critical Desktop CVEs; Hub incident
  • 4.6/5 G2 rating 303 verified reviews
  • Free (Personal) Starting price Pro $9/mo, up from $5
  • Yes Free tier Personal use is always free
  • $541M Total funding Across 17 rounds (Tracxn)

Pricing

Personal

Free

  • Docker Engine and core tooling
  • Individual use only

Pro

$9/month

  • Individual developers
  • Was $5/month before Dec 2024

Team

Per seat (raised Dec 2024)

  • Collaboration features
  • Price increased in Nov/Dec 2024 update

Business

Reported $5,000–$7,000+/year

  • Enterprise tier
  • Confirm current pricing with Docker

Security

Active findings: multiple critical Docker Desktop CVEs (2025–2026) and a 2024 Hub incident — patch promptly.

  • CVE-2025-9074 — critical Docker Desktop vulnerabilityCritical SSRF-like flaw in Docker Desktop enabling local compromise; fixed August 2025.⁶
  • CVE-2026-17106 'CopyEscape'Imperva Red Team uncovered a container-to-host takeover flaw via docker cp.⁷
  • CVE-2026-34040 — criticalCyera researchers found a size-check flaw in Docker enabling host-level attacks; patch now.
  • Docker Hub security incident (Sept 2024)Community-discussed Docker Hub security incident on 2024.09.24; details shared in official forums.

What users say

Reviewers broadly rate Docker highly as the container standard, though many complain about complexity and Desktop pricing.

“Docker is complicated. It complicates things that are easy in a hyp…”
Reddit, r/docker
“Docker is a game-changer. It isolates workloads”
Reddit, r/selfhosted
“Docker is great when run on Linux”
Reddit, r/docker

Companies that use it

  • PayPal10
  • IBM
  • EJBCA (Keyfactor)
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources: G2, Gartner, Reddit, PCMag, Docker docs/pricing, and security trackers.

Category-standard containers; great for multi-service teams, overkill for simple apps. Free personal, but Pro pricing jumped 80%.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources: G2, Gartner, Reddit, PCMag, Docker docs/pricing, and security trackers.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. official
  4. official
  5. news
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. review
  10. news
  11. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Docker says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.