shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Draft2Digital?

Self-publishing aggregator: formatting, distribution, sales reporting - draft2digital.com

Depends. Buy if you're a self-published author distributing ebooks wide beyond Amazon — free formatting and broad retailer reach still work. Skip it if you publish only via KDP, lead with print, or the new 2026 annual fees outweigh your royalties.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; several snippets were truncated, and no numeric Trustpilot rating was extractable.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0 upfront

Free publishing

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$12/yr
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Self-published authors going wide beyond Amazon
  • Backlist authors consolidating many stores
  • Non-technical writers wanting free formatting
  • Authors avoiding KDP exclusivity

Not for

  • Amazon-only KDP authors — aggregator adds nothing
  • Print-first authors — IngramSpark/KDP fit better
  • Low-earning authors hit by new annual fees
  • Authors who fear losing reviews when migrating

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

$12/yr maintenance fee for lower-earning accounts; petition demands removal

high

Leaving means republishing elsewhere; Amazon reviews don't follow your books

medium

Activation and maintenance fees now apply per book; verify terms before uploading

medium

Users report fees hit existing authors, including erotica writers, without opt-out

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free, easy ebook formatting praised across independent reviews
  • No upfront cost to publish
  • Wide retail reach; new partnership (Feb 2026)
  • Consolidated sales reporting across retailers
  • Long-term users remain satisfied

Cons

  • New 2026 fees triggered author petition and backlash
  • $12 annual maintenance fee added for existing accounts
  • Some authors publicly left over fee changes
  • Migrating books between platforms can lose Amazon reviews
  • Print support trails KDP and IngramSpark per user reports

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. Publishes a product security page; two-factor authentication documented in knowledge base.

official x2review x6security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0 upfront

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. New fees triggered petition and departures
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Free formatting widely praised as simple
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Broad distribution; print trails KDP and IngramSpark
  • Support quality. No direct support evidence found
  • Security posture: 4/5. Publishes security page; 2FA documented; no incidents
  • 235 Trustpilot reviewers customer-service reviews, mixed sentiment
  • Yes Free to publish no upfront cost; new 2026 fees added
  • $12/yr New maintenance fee introduced 2026, angered many authors
  • Feb 2026 Bookshop.org deal self-pub ebooks reach indie bookstores

Pricing

Free publishing

$0 upfront

  • No upfront cost; platform earns from royalties
  • New 2026 annual/maintenance fees now apply

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Publishes a product security page; two-factor authentication documented in knowledge base.

What users say

Sentiment is mixed: authors long praised the free formatting and reach, but 2026 fee changes drove anger, petitions, and departures.

“Draft2Digital is now charging a $12 maintenance”
Reddit, r/writers
“Just nuked Draft2Digital/Smash words account over "maintenance" fee”
Reddit, r/selfpublish
“I will no longer be doing business with Draft2Digital”
LinkedIn post by Mark Bromley
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; several snippets were truncated, and no numeric Trustpilot rating was extractable.

Free formatting and wide distribution still solid; new 2026 fees stung small authors. Amazon-only or print-first writers can skip.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; several snippets were truncated, and no numeric Trustpilot rating was extractable.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. security
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.