shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Duo (Cisco Duo) Review

Depends

Should I use Duo (Cisco Duo)?

Cisco Duo: IAM & MFA identity security for business - duo.com

· 1 week ago

Buy if you're a mid-size or larger organization with IT staff that needs MFA across VPNs, apps, and legacy systems. Skip it if you're an individual or small team. A free authenticator app or password-manager 2FA covers you.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated. Some search noise (unrelated 'Duo' products) excluded.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Duo Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Paid editionsFrom $24

Best for

  • Mid-size and enterprise IT teams
  • Cisco-centric infrastructure shops
  • Universities and regulated industries
  • Orgs needing MFA across VPNs and legacy apps

Not for

  • Solo users and households. Free authenticator apps do the same job
  • Startups under ~10 people; Duo Free caps there anyway
  • Teams wanting zero-admin passwordless. Microsoft Entra ID can fit better
  • Anyone unwilling to run patches and an admin panel

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Push-fatigue attacks hit universities; train users to reject unexpected prompts.

medium

Duo Free stops at 10 users; meaningful features sit behind four paid editions.

medium

Phone-callback verification bills extra. Sysadmins flag it as a recurring cost.

medium

Components like Authentication Proxy have CVE history; patching discipline is on you.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Expert-rated 4.8/5 mobile app
  • Seamless integration with existing apps and logins
  • Free tier covers up to 10 users
  • FedRAMP-authorized Federal edition for government work
  • Works alongside Okta and other identity providers

Cons

  • Setup described as difficult in user reviews
  • Phone callback authentication costs extra
  • Recent remote-code-execution vulnerability (CVE-2025-20258)
  • 2024 third-party VoIP/SMS breach affected MFA delivery
  • Universities report attackers abusing Duo push prompts

Sources & method

- 14 sources - Widely deployed and actively patched, but with a steady CVE history and a 2024 third-party MFA-delivery breach.

official x2review x7security x3news x2
  • CVE-2025-20258. Cisco Duo RCE, Remote code execution vulnerability listed for Cisco Duo, July 2026.
  • Duo Authentication Proxy information disclosure, Cisco security advisory published August 2025.
  • 2024 third-party breach, Hackers stole VoIP and SMS used for MFA delivery; disclosed April 2024.
  • Multiple historical CVEs, CVE-2023-20123, CVE-2024-20292, and CVE-2025-20345 listed against Duo.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Callback fees and paid-tier costs draw complaints
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Daily login easy; setup called difficult
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Broad integrations, device trust, FedRAMP edition
  • Support quality. No support evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple CVEs; 2024 third-party breach
  • 4.8/5 Expert rating Passwordmanager.com, Duo Mobile, 2026
  • From $24 Starting price Entry paid tier (InvenioIT)
  • Yes Free tier Duo Free, up to 10 users
  • $2.35B Acquired by Cisco 2018 acquisition

Pricing

Duo Free

$0

  • Up to 10 users
  • Core MFA

Paid editions

From $24

  • Four paid editions per Capterra
  • Includes a FedRAMP Federal edition

Security

Widely deployed and actively patched, but with a steady CVE history and a 2024 third-party MFA-delivery breach.

  • CVE-2025-20258. Cisco Duo RCERemote code execution vulnerability listed for Cisco Duo, July 2026.10
  • Duo Authentication Proxy information disclosureCisco security advisory published August 2025.11
  • 2024 third-party breachHackers stole VoIP and SMS used for MFA delivery; disclosed April 2024.12
  • Multiple historical CVEsCVE-2023-20123, CVE-2024-20292, and CVE-2025-20345 listed against Duo.

What users say

Users praise Duo's reliable push MFA and integrations, but flag tricky setup and callback fees.

“Callbacks cost you money”
Reddit, r/sysadmin
“Duo, the 2FA app we use,”
Reddit, r/rit

Companies that use it

  • Grand Valley State University
  • Stony Brook University
  • University of Oregon
  • RIT
  • UCLA14
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated. Some search noise (unrelated 'Duo' products) excluded.

Enterprise-grade MFA with deep integrations. Right for orgs with IT staff, overkill for individuals and tiny teams.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated. Some search noise (unrelated 'Duo' products) excluded.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. security
  11. security
  12. security
  13. news
  14. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Duo (Cisco Duo) says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.