shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Dymo?

Label makers, label printers, and labels - dymo.com

Depends. Buy Dymo only if you accept first-party label costs and keeping its software patched; the hardware itself is a proven standard. High-volume or cost-sensitive buyers should choose Brother P-touch or a pre-DRM LabelWriter 450 instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources; many review snippets truncated, so ratings could not be quoted numerically.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depthNo usable feature evidence in sources
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Hardware + consumables

varies by model; e.g. handheld with PC connectivity $328.01

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • E-commerce sellers printing shipping and FNSKU labels
  • Offices labeling files and assets
  • Pro-AV and security installers
  • Home organization

Not for

  • Anyone needing cheap third-party labels — newer models DRM-block them
  • High-volume printers; consumable costs compound fast
  • Buyers who expect responsive customer support
  • Security-strict networks unwilling to patch printer software

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Newer printers use DRM-chipped labels; third-party labels are blocked. Verify model first.

high

Consumables, not the printer, are the real cost; label prices reportedly jumped ~80%.

medium

Published CVEs in DYMO Connect and Print Server software; keep software patched.

medium

Trustpilot reviews describe poor customer service experiences.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Long-standing standard for office, shipping, and asset labels
  • Recommended by security-system installers for labeling
  • Amazon FBA sellers rely on it for FNSKU labels
  • DYMO Label software approved on the VA's federal Technical Reference Model
  • Widely stocked at Walmart, Target, Amazon, Office Depot

Cons

  • Trustpilot reviewers say 'Avoid Dymo at all costs!'
  • DRM chips force first-party label purchases
  • Users report 80% label price increases at Walmart
  • 'Do NOT buy this brand' threads active on r/dymo
  • Critics argue quality worsened as DRM expanded

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 9 sources - Multiple published CVEs in DYMO Connect and LabelWriter Print Server software; patch promptly.

official x1review x4security x2news x2
  • CVE-2026-76796 — DYMO Connect path traversal, Path traversal vulnerability in DYMO Connect disclosed September 2026.
  • CVE-2023-49963 — LabelWriter Print Server, DYMO LabelWriter Print Server through version 2.366 contains a vulnerability.
  • DYMO Label 8.7.4 and DYMO Connect 1.6 flagged, Lavawall application monitoring lists known vulnerabilities; updates recommended.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • varies by model; e.g. handheld with PC connectivity $328.01

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Hardware cheap; DRM labels inflate lifetime cost
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Guess: ubiquitous office standard, plug-and-play thermal printing
  • Feature depth. No usable feature evidence in sources
  • Support quality: 1/5. Trustpilot reviews report poor support experiences
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple published CVEs in desktop software
  • $340M Reported revenue prospeo.io estimate
  • 80% Label price hike Walmart, user-reported (Reddit, 2024)
  • 2+ Known CVEs DYMO Connect and Print Server software
  • Newell Brands Parent company NYSE: NWL

Pricing

Hardware + consumables

varies by model; e.g. handheld with PC connectivity $328.01

  • Printers sold at Walmart, Target, Amazon, Office Depot, MSC Direct
  • Labels sold separately; first-party labels required on newer DRM models

Security

Multiple published CVEs in DYMO Connect and LabelWriter Print Server software; patch promptly.

  • CVE-2026-76796 — DYMO Connect path traversalPath traversal vulnerability in DYMO Connect disclosed September 2026.⁴
  • CVE-2023-49963 — LabelWriter Print ServerDYMO LabelWriter Print Server through version 2.366 contains a vulnerability.⁵
  • DYMO Label 8.7.4 and DYMO Connect 1.6 flaggedLavawall application monitoring lists known vulnerabilities; updates recommended.

What users say

The printers remain popular standards, but DRM'd label costs, price hikes, and support experiences draw heavy criticism.

“Avoid Dymo at all costs!”
Trustpilot reviewer
“80% price increase on labels at Walmart?”
Reddit, r/dymo
“Dymo is the worst brand in the history of the universe”
Reddit, r/dymo

Companies that use it

  • U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs⁸
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources; many review snippets truncated, so ratings could not be quoted numerically.

Proven label printers, but DRM'd labels, price hikes, and weak support push most buyers toward Brother instead.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources; many review snippets truncated, so ratings could not be quoted numerically.

Sources

  1. review
  2. news
  3. review
  4. security
  5. security
  6. review
  7. review
  8. official
  9. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.