shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Shopify?

Hire developers, designers, and marketers focused on growing your Shopify business. Empower your business with Shopify Partners. - experts.shopify.com

Depends. Buy if you're running a real store and can budget well beyond the $39 sticker — the app ecosystem and expert-hiring marketplace are strong. Skip it for hobby tests or tiny catalogs where free or marketplace alternatives fit better.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, so exact rating figures are approximate.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$39/mo

Basic

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Serious e-commerce stores
  • Brands hiring vetted Shopify experts
  • Sellers wanting apps, POS, and financing in one stack

Not for

  • Hobby sellers testing an idea
  • Tiny budgets — free alternatives exist
  • Anyone allergic to recurring app-fee creep
  • Teams expecting hands-on support on entry plans

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Watch recurring app charges: billing gripes are 18.7% of 1–2 star app reviews

high

$39/mo is the floor; real stores pay far more after apps and fees

medium

Third-party apps are the common security weak point — vet every install

medium

Account freezes and fee disputes show up repeatedly in user complaints

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Marketplace of developers, designers, and marketers for Shopify stores
  • Rated 4+ across 6,588 G2 seller reviews
  • Deep stack: apps, POS, financing, expert hiring
  • Free trial available before paid plans
  • Public bug bounty and published compliance reports

Cons

  • True cost runs well above sticker once apps stack
  • Billing complaints appear in 18.7% of 1–2 star app reviews
  • Users report account freezes, wrong fee deductions, weak support
  • Customer data was stolen via a 2024 third-party breach

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/24/2026 - 9 sources - Mature security program (bug bounty, compliance reports) but with past breaches and CVEs in Shopify tooling.

official x2review x6news x1
  • XSS vulnerability CVE-2026-33244, Cross-site scripting flaw affecting Shopify's react-router component.
  • CVE-2026-34166 in LiquidJS, Vulnerability disclosed in LiquidJS, the templating library tied to Shopify's Liquid.
  • Insider data breach, Shopify disclosed a breach blamed on rogue employees accessing customer data.
  • 2024 third-party breach, Stolen customer data attributed to a third-party breach; Shopify denied its own systems were hit.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $39/mo

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Real cost climbs well past sticker with apps
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users consistently praise the platform
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Apps, POS, Capital financing, expert marketplace
  • Support quality: 2/5. Freezes, fee disputes, unresponsiveness reported
  • Security posture: 3/5. Bug bounty and compliance, but past breaches
  • 6,588 G2 seller reviews Rated 4+ on G2
  • $39/mo Starting price Basic plan, 2026 pricing
  • Yes Free trial Before paid plans start
  • ~8.6% Market share Cited share of e-commerce platforms

Pricing

Basic

$39/mo

  • Cheapest paid plan
  • Free trial comes first

Security

Mature security program (bug bounty, compliance reports) but with past breaches and CVEs in Shopify tooling.

  • XSS vulnerability CVE-2026-33244Cross-site scripting flaw affecting Shopify's react-router component.
  • CVE-2026-34166 in LiquidJSVulnerability disclosed in LiquidJS, the templating library tied to Shopify's Liquid.
  • Insider data breachShopify disclosed a breach blamed on rogue employees accessing customer data.
  • 2024 third-party breachStolen customer data attributed to a third-party breach; Shopify denied its own systems were hit.⁸

What users say

G2 users consistently praise the platform, while Reddit, Trustpilot, and Quora threads dwell on real costs, app billing, and support.

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, so exact rating figures are approximate.

Solid for committed stores; real costs balloon past $39/mo with apps, and support complaints are common. Hobby sellers: look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, so exact rating figures are approximate.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.