shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Fairphone?

Visiting from the US? - fairphone.com

Depends. Buy it if you keep phones for years, repair things yourself, and care about supply-chain ethics. Skip it if you want flagship camera, top speed, or seamless US carrier support.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources: hands-on reviews, owner forums, security discussions, and pricing listings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$650

Fairphone (Gen. 6+)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • People who keep phones 5+ years
  • DIY repairers
  • Ethical/supply-chain-first buyers
  • De-Googled OS users (/e/OS option)

Not for

  • Camera-first and mobile-gaming buyers
  • US buyers wanting carrier subsidies or financing
  • Anyone needing fastest Android security patches
  • Impulse buyers unwilling to order spare parts

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Security patch delays documented: owners report missing Android patches

medium

Older models reach end-of-life (FP3 in Aug 2026); verify spare-parts commitments first

medium

US buyers call the price high; no carrier subsidies or financing mentioned

medium

Support quality is mixed; forum threads document slow resolutions

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Most repairable phone available; modular parts extend lifespan
  • Eight-year security-update promise on Fairphone 5
  • Now officially sold in the US, shipping to every state
  • Privacy-first /e/OS variant available via Murena
  • $650 with Android 16 undercuts most flagships

Cons

  • Security patches lag Google and other OEMs
  • Camera and performance trail flagships
  • Priced high for mid-range hardware, say US buyers
  • Fairphone 3 hit end of life August 2026
  • A past update bricked some Fairphone 4 phones

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 10 sources - No breaches found; repeated criticism that Android security patches ship late versus peers.

official x1review x4security x3news x2
  • Slow security patch delivery, Owners report missing Android security patches despite large upstream Android releases.
  • CVE-2023-45779 exposure, Android APEX privilege-escalation flaw affected multiple OEMs including Fairphone devices, per SentinelOne.
  • Update bricking incident, A Fairphone 4 update reportedly bricked some owners' phones.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $650

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Mid-range specs at $650; buyers split on worth
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Reviewers call it a viable mid-range phone
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Modular repairability stands out; camera and speed trail flagships
  • Support quality: 3/5. Mixed: forum complaints, Trustpilot says decent
  • Security posture: 2/5. Criticized for slow security patch delivery
  • $650 Gen 6+ price 12GB/256GB, ships with Android 16
  • 8 years Update promise Security updates on Fairphone 5
  • €49M Funding Raised to date, incl. impact funds
  • Aug 2026 US availability Ships to every US state

Pricing

Fairphone (Gen. 6+)

$650

  • 12GB/256GB, modular, unlocked
  • Ships with Android 16
  • Sold via US store and Amazon

Security

No breaches found; repeated criticism that Android security patches ship late versus peers.

  • Slow security patch deliveryOwners report missing Android security patches despite large upstream Android releases.
  • CVE-2023-45779 exposureAndroid APEX privilege-escalation flaw affected multiple OEMs including Fairphone devices, per SentinelOne.⁷
  • Update bricking incidentA Fairphone 4 update reportedly bricked some owners' phones.

Alternatives

Compare Fairphone with each alternative.

  • Murena Fairphone 6 (/e/OS)

    Same hardware, privacy-first de-Googled OS preinstalled

Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources: hands-on reviews, owner forums, security discussions, and pricing listings.

Great repairable 8-year-update phone; wrong pick if you want top camera, speed, or US carrier deals.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources: hands-on reviews, owner forums, security discussions, and pricing listings.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. news
  5. security
  6. security
  7. security
  8. news
  9. official
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.